Astridpark

12
February 2020

History of the stadium of the most prestigious football club in Belgium.
In the shadow of Saint-Guidon, academic football has been erected there as a trademark.

Astridpark

A ground on the edge of a park

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht Founded on May 17, 1908, the beginnings of the Sporting Club Anderlecht take place in the shadow of the many Brussels clubs already existing since the 19th century, namely the Léopold Club, Sporting de Bruxelles, Union FC Ixelles, Skill FC, Athletic & Running Brussels, the Olympia Club, Uccle Sport, the Excelsior SC, but especially the Daring, the Racing Club and Union Saint-Gilloise. These latter clubs have already won several national titles.
Evolving since its foundation on a ground at Verheydenstraat, the club has settled permanently on a piece of ground made available by the municipality of Anderlecht in 1914.
This ground is located on the edge of a large park opened in 1903. Inaugurated under the name of Meerpark, it has been redeveloped and enlarged over time, but especially in 1926 by the architect Jules Buyssens.
As for the stadium, a first wooden stand was built in 1920. At that time, the facilities were greatly reduced, but that was not a problem. Indeed, Sporting is far from being a stable club and its first years were synonymous with many ascents and descents, the club being also nicknamed at that time "the lift".
In 1935, following the death of Queen Astrid of Belgium, the park was renamed to Astridpark, in tribute to the beloved queen from Sweden. The same year, the Purples & White club acquired a certain stability and was once again promoted in Division 1, to stay there definitively this time.

Parc Astrid

Rise in power during the inter-war period

If the title of champion was won only four times outside Brussels between 1896 and 1914 (FC Liège in 1896, 1898 and 1899, and the Cercle Bruges in 1911), after the Great War, the situation changed little by little.
As soon as the official competitions return, the domination of the Flemish clubs had become stronger and stronger. Thus, in 1920, FC Bruges won the title. Then it’s the turn of the Antwerp clubs (Beerschot AC, Antwerp and Lierse) to take the 1st place in the championship. Meanwhile, the Daring and the Union continue to glean a few titles, but the Brussels' domination has ended. Worse, several clubs in the capital were dissolved or fell into the lower divisions. Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht The place of leader of Brussels football is to be taken and the Sporting Anderlecht has gradually increase in power.
In 1935, the club signed a 30-year long lease with the municipality of Anderlecht covering an area of 4 hectares. At that time the club already occupied almost a third of the total area of Astridpark. Meanwhile, the stadium is named after Emile Versé, the club's sponsor.
Little by little, the stadium is developing and concrete stands begin to surround the ground.

In 1946, the club obtained the right to carry out major works from the municipality.
It must be said that Sporting is becoming a popular club and that these facilities are starting to be too cramped. The stands are raised and a daring seating stand is built. This stand is sheltered by a cantilevered roof, something unusual for the time. The following year, the club celebrated its first national title. The dominance of Sporting over Belgian and European football is just beginning.
After the war, only Anderlecht managed to honor the capital with the title of champion, the Daring and the Union having fallen into anonymity. These two clubs will no longer regain their glory and the Daring will even have to merge with the White Star in the 70's to avoid completely disappearing. This merger will still bring a champion title in 1975 but the rest was only a succession of problems and the prestigious club of Molenbeek will disappear in 2002.
As for Sporting, and after its inaugural title, the highest step of the podium has been occupied by the Purples & Whites in 1949, 1950, 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1959.

Parc Astrid

Two decades at the top of Belgian and European football

The 1960's were marked by an outrageous domination of Sporting. Indeed, during this decade, the title has escaped Anderlecht only four times : Lierse (1960) and Standard (1961, 1963 and 1969). The first Belgian Cup was won in 1965.
The stadium will be further enlarged during this golden age and an "Elascon" type stand has been built behind a goal around 1965. The stadium's capacity is then 40,000 places.
The "Elascon" tribunes have been built in large quantities in the Netherlands but only have had limited success in Belgium. With the exception of Anderlecht, we only had the following stadiums in the upper leagues : Florent Beekman (Denderleeuw), Fallon (Woluwé), Vedette (Boussu) and Pairay (Seraing). This type of construction is about to disappear completely. It must be said that the structures of these stands are particularly light and don't have the solidity of concrete.
The last two uncovered terraces have been sheltered in the process.
In 1972, the European Nations Championship stopped in Belgium and a match was organized at the Emile Verséstadion : USSR-Hungary (1-0) with only 2,000 spectators.
Omnisports club, the Sporting invests in the construction of the Henri Simonet Hall between 1969 and 1972.

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht From a sporting point of view, the supremacy of Anderlecht over the Belgian championship experienced a certain drop in speed : the title has been won only in 1972 and 1974. On the other hand, the Belgian Cup was won four times (1972, 1973, 1975 and 1976).
But at the continental level, Sporting has become a club feared and respected by the other European clubs. So after a lost final against Arsenal in the Fair Cities Cup in 1970, Anderlecht won two Cup Winners' Cups (EC2) in 1976 and 1978 and two UEFA Super Cups in the same years. The Sporting has thus dominated prestigious clubs such as Bayern Munich, Liverpool and West Ham (and to a lesser extent the Austria Vienna).
For big European matches, Anderlecht has still been forced to play at the much larger Heysel Stadium.

During these 20 glorious years, the best football artists have been set foot on the lawn of the Astridpark. The Belgian internationals (among others Paul Van Himst, Ludo Coeck, Jef Jurion, Wilfried Puis, Martin Lippens and Jacques Stockman), Dutch (Jan Mulder, Arie Haan and Robbie Rensenbrink) and Hungarian (Attila Ladinsky) will enchant the faithful for many years Anderlecht's public.
Sporting is then renowned for its very technical but also organized game. Major international coaches have also officiated at Théo Verbeecklaan. These include Norberto Höfling, Pierre Sinibaldi, Georg Kessler, Urbain Braems, Hans Croon, Raymond Goethals and Tomislav Ivić.

The 1970's also saw the arrival of a man who would make an indelible mark on the club and the Sporting stadium : Constant Vanden Stock.
Director of the Belle-Vue brewery, former player of D1 and Red Devil, then trainer and national coach, he became president in 1971. Aware that a stadium can bring in more money than mainly from supporters’ takes, he imagines a revolutionary stadium which will be cited as an example around the world. The moulting of the old Emile Verséstadion can begin.

Parc Astrid

From a football stadium to a theater, a symbol of business-football

Constant Vanden Stock therefore imagines new means to increase the budget and thus permanently register the club at the top of European football.
At this time, money from TV still represents only a tiny part of the club's revenues and the majority of the budget is generated by a substantial attendance at the matches of Purples & Whites. But rather than betting on an increase in the number of supporters, Vanden Stock prefers to favor a clearly more profitable clientele : the businessmen. They welcome the possibility of negotiating lucrative contracts while having the opportunity to attend a football match. This is how business-seats and skyboxes are created. For its new stadium, Vanden Stock will put it everywhere. Note that for the first time, the stadium design is designed by computer.
The new stadium bears the name of its president : Constant Vanden Stockstadion.

Coupe d'Europe des vainqueurs de Coupe The first works began in 1983 and the old seated main stand was replaced by a new unique construction : two floors of seating with in between, a floor of 24 skyboxes rented year-round at golden prices. In 1986, opposite the main stand, a similar structure (but with 600 business-seats in place of skyboxes) was built.
In 1988, the “Elascon” stand disappeared in favor of 8 skyboxes, 550 business-seats and seating and standing places.
Finally, in 1991, the stands formerly occupied by the Sporting kop were razed and replaced by a new stand equipped with 400 business-seats and a tower lined with 7 skyboxes was erected along Théo Verbeecklaan.
The new capacity is just over 28,000 places, including more than 2,000 places in luxury places. Cash inflows will be multiplied.
At that moment, we tell that Vanden Stock had an idea of genius. But...

From a sporting point of view, the 1980's still saw a certain domination of Sporting on the European scene. But Anderlecht is no longer the only Belgian club to shine. If FC Bruges had already reached the final of the EC3 in 1976 and of the Champions Club Cup (EC1) in 1978 each time against Liverpool, it is now the turn of Standard (lost final of the CE2 in 1982 against FC Barcelona) but especially the turn of FC Mechelen to win in Europe. The Mechelen club won the EC2 in 1988 against Ajax Amsterdam (1-0). Anderlecht nevertheless won the CE3 in 1983 against the Benfica Lisbon (2-1).
On the domestic scene, the club was sacred in 1981, 1985, 1986 and 1987 and won the Belgian Cup in 1988 and 1989.

Stade Constant Vanden Stock

Exploding TV broadcast costs and a stadium too small

Vanden Stock's calculations did not anticipate the explosion of television broadcast costs. These will favor from the 1990's the large countries to the detriment of the smallest. Indeed, the more a country is populated, the more there are potential spectators and the higher the costs there.
Belgium, with its 10 million inhabitants, is not able to compete. The Bosman ruling also dealt a fatal blow to Belgian clubs. Anderlecht played their last European final against the Sampdoria Genoa in 1990 (EC2, 2-0 defeat).
Antwerp FC still managed to play a European final in 1993 (EC2 against Parma AC, 3-1 defeat) but it would be the last final played by a Belgian club. The results of Anderlecht obviously follow the same slope and the prestigious Brussels club has even became the laughingstock of European football by posting a dismal 0 out of 18 during its participation in the Champions League in 2004-2005. A few blows of radiance are all the same listed but Anderlecht (and Belgian football in general) is no longer scary. On the contrary...

For the stadium, the tightening of UEFA’s security rules has lowered the seating capacity to just 21,000 seats for European matches. Euro 2000 hasn't stop at Astridpark.

Stade Constant Vanden Stock

Projects remaining unfulfilled

For the presidency of the club, Constant gave way to his son Roger in 1996, after 25 years of service.
The end of Constant’s reign has been marked by scandal : the Anderlecht-Nottingham Forest affair.
Anderlecht finds itself in the mid-2000's facing a dilemma : either the stadium is slightly enlarged (its location in the city doesn't favor a very ambitious project), or the club moves out of Anderlecht and permanently loses its identity.
Some renovations are still underway, namely the replacement of the lighting (2006) and the seats (2012), as well as the refurbishment of the stands. These works further reduce the capacity to 26,000 places.
Anderlecht continues to trump the first prizes but its dominance on Belgian football is undermined by FC Bruges, Standard, AA Gent and RC Genk. Thus, between 1990 and 2016, only eight championships were won by the Purples & Whites (1990, 1992, 1996, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2016). As for the Belgian Cup, it’s even worse since during the same period, only two trophies were won (1994 and 2008).

Parc Astrid

The end of the Vanden Stock era

In 2018, the unimaginable arrived : Roger Vanden Stock puts the club of his heart on sale. Several candidates arrived and it's finally the billionaire (and incidentally president of the KV Oostend) Marc Coucke who wins the presidency. The Vanden Stock era lasted 46 years and has an impressive track record : 20 championship titles, 8 Belgian Cups, 13 Belgian Super Cups, 2 Cup Winners' Cups, 1 UEFA Cup and 2 European Super Cups.

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht With the hope of renewal (especially in the European Cups), the club begins the 2018-2019 season with lots of optimism and a number of transfers. Alas, the club achieves the unenviable feat of making the worst result since the 1972-1973 season and even worse, doesn't even manage to qualify for Europe. A sad first in 55 years of uninterrupted presence in continental competitions.
Meanwhile, the club yields to the stupid fashion of naming and against a lucrative contract, the stadium is now called Lotto Park. With a simple signature, the Vanden Stock legacy is forgotten.

What will happen to the venerable stadium ? Will the club one day be able to regain its prestige ?
Nothing is less sure...

Astridpark

The Emile Verséstadion at its beginnings. A wooden stand and that's it.

Astridpark

Around 1935, concrete terraces surround the grounds.

Astridpark

Aerial view in 1946. The stands are enlarged while a new seated stand is erected. The club can celebrate its first title in a renovated stadium.

Astridpark

With the help of success, the spans of Astrid Park were regularly crowded in the 1950's.

Astridpark

The stadium in 1959. The main stand was extended the entire length of the ground while artificial lighting appeared.

Astridpark

The “Elascon” stand in 1966. This daring construction will increase the capacity of the stadium to 40,000 places.

Astridpark

Gradually, all the stands will be equipped with a roof. Euro 72 has been organized in this configuration.

Astridpark

A dilapidated stadium unworthy of a European tenor. This is what Constant Vanden Stock thinks in the late 1970's.

Astridpark

The old Emile Verséstadion at the dawn of the 80's. A radical transformation will soon take place.

Astridpark

1983 : start of major works. The new stand 1 under construction.

Astridpark

In 1986, the terrace on the park side was destroyed and replaced by a new stand with 7,400 seats.

Astridpark

For two years, the two end stands are still original.

Astridpark

Like everywhere, hooliganism is present in the Astridpark. Here, the O-Side is particularly feared.

Astridpark

Junction between the new main stand and the old "Elascon" stand.

Astridpark

The beautiful facade typical of the 80's. The stadium received the first prize for architecture and sport awarded by the International Olympic Committee. The portal dates from the 1950's.

Astridpark

All seats are orange. Why ? Otherwise, the spectator's safety and comfort, as well as his good vision of the ground, were important factors in the design of the stadium.

Astridpark

Due to its presence in a park on one side and a large urban density on the other, the Constant Vanden Stockstadion cannot be extended endlessly.

Astridpark

The Simonet Hall is on the left. If the stadium is enlarged, it will disappear.

Astridpark

One of the stadium expansion projects : adding a third tier and a capacity between 30,000 and 35,000 seats.

Astridpark

The seats are finally purple and white. The stadium still gains in comfort but loses capacity.

Astridpark

Terrace of the Kop. The most fervent supporters regret the former stadium and its overheated atmosphere.

Astridpark

The main stand. Unfortunately, the gentrification of stadiums is rotting the atmosphere throughout Europe.

Astridpark

But Anderlecht can claim less to keep its identity and its home.

Astridpark

The Astridpark remains a beautiful little stadium despite everything.

Astridpark

So many victories have taken place here.

Astridpark

As for its new name, no comment !


Note

  • This article comes from my old website www.foothisto.be but was never published.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated recently (February 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500

Parc Astrid

Histoire du stade du plus prestigieux club de football de Belgique.
A l’ombre de Saint-Guidon, le football académique y sera érigé en marque de fabrique.

Parc Astrid

Un terrain au bord d’un parc

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht Fondé le 17 mai 1908, les débuts du Sporting Club d’Anderlecht se déroulent dans l’ombre des nombreux clubs bruxellois déjà existants depuis le XIXe siècle, à savoir le Léopold Club, le Sporting de Bruxelles, l’Union FC Ixelles, le Skill FC, l’Athletic & Running de Bruxelles, l’Olympia Club, Uccle Sport, l’Excelsior SC, mais surtout du Daring, du Racing Club et de l’Union Saint-Gilloise. Ces trois derniers clubs ont déjà remporté plusieurs titres nationaux.
Evoluant depuis sa fondation sur un terrain à la rue Verheyden, le club s’installe définitivement sur un terrain mis à la disposition par la commune d’Anderlecht en 1914.
Ce terrain se trouve au bord d’un vaste parc ouvert en 1903. Inauguré sous le nom du Parc du Meer, il sera réaménagé et agrandi au fil du temps, mais surtout en 1926 par l’architecte Jules Buyssens.
Quant au stade, une première tribune en bois est construite en 1920. A ce moment, les installations sont fort réduites mais cela ne pose pas de problème. En effet, le Sporting est loin d’être un club stable et ses premières années sont synonymes de nombreuses montées et descentes, le club étant d’ailleurs surnommé à cette époque « l’ascenseur ».
En 1935, suite au décès de la Reine Astrid de Belgique, le parc est renommé en Parc Astrid, en hommage à la bien aimée reine venue de Suède. La même année, le club mauve et blanc acquiert une certaine stabilité et est une fois de plus promu en Division 1, pour y rester définitivement cette fois.

Parc Astrid

Montée en puissance durant l’entre-deux-guerres

Si titre de champion n’a été remporté que quatre fois hors de Bruxelles entre 1896 et 1914 (Le FC Liège en 1896, 1898 et 1899, et le Cercle de Bruges en 1911), au sortir de la Grande Guerre, la situation change peu à peu.
Dès le retour des compétitions officielles, la domination des clubs flamands se fera de plus en plus forte. Ainsi, dès 1920, le FC Bruges remporte le titre. Puis, c’est au tour des clubs anversois (le Beerschot AC, l’Antwerp et le Lierse) de truster la 1ère place du championnat. Entre-temps, le Daring et l’Union continuent de glaner quelques titres mais l’archi-domination bruxelloise a pris fin. Pire, plusieurs clubs de la capitale ont été dissolus ou sont tombés dans les divisions inférieures.
Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht La place de leader du foot bruxellois est à prendre et le Sporting d’Anderlecht montera progressivement en puissance.
En 1935, le club signe un bail emphytéotique de 30 ans avec la commune d’Anderlecht portant sur une superficie de 4 hectares. Le club occupe déjà à cette époque près d’un tiers de la superficie totale du Parc Astrid. Entre-temps, le stade est baptisé au nom d’Emile Versé, mécène du club.
Peu à peu, le stade se développe et des gradins en béton commencent à ceinturer le terrain.

En 1946, le club obtient de la commune le droit de procéder à de grands travaux.
Il faut dire que le Sporting devient un club populaire et que ces installations commencent à être trop exiguës. Les gradins sont surélevés et une audacieuse tribune assise est construite. Cette tribune est abritée par une toiture en porte-à-faux, chose peu commune pour l’époque. Dès l’année suivant, le club fête son premier titre national. La domination du Sporting sur le football belge et européen commence à peine.
Après-guerre, seul Anderlecht réussi à honorer la capitale du titre de champion, le Daring et l’Union étant tombés dans l’anonymat. Ces deux clubs ne retrouveront plus leur gloire et le Daring devra même fusionner avec le White Star dans les années 70 pour éviter de disparaitre complétement. Cette fusion amènera tout de même un titre de champion en 1975 mais la suite ne fût qu’une succession de problèmes et le prestigieux club de Molenbeek disparaitra en 2002.
Quant au Sporting, et après son titre inaugural, la plus haute marche du podium sera occupée par les Mauves & Blancs en 1949, 1950, 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 et 1959.

Parc Astrid

Deux décennies au sommet du foot belge et européen

Les années 60 seront marquées par une domination outrageuse du Sporting. En effet, pendant cette décennie, le titre n’échappera à Anderlecht que quatre fois : le Lierse (1960) et le Standard (1961, 1963 et 1969). La première Coupe de Belgique sera remportée en 1965.
Le stade sera encore agrandi durant cet âge d’or et une tribune de type « Elascon » sera construite derrière un but vers 1965. La capacité du stade est alors de 40.000 places.
Les tribunes « Elascon » seront construites en grande quantité au Pays-Bas mais ne connaitront qu’un succès limité en Belgique. Excepté Anderlecht, nous n’avons eu que les stades Florent Beekman (Denderleeuw), Fallon (Woluwé), Vedette (Boussu) et le Pairay (Seraing) dans les divisions supérieures. Ce type de construction est en passe de disparaître complètement. Il faut dire que les structures de ces tribunes sont particulièrement légères et n’ont pas la solidité du béton.
Les deux dernières tribunes non couvertes seront dans la foulée désormais abritées.
En 1972, le Championnat d’Europe des Nations s’arrête en Belgique et une rencontre est organisée au Stade Emile Versé : URSS-Hongrie (1-0) devant seulement 2.000 spectateurs.
Club omnisport, le Sporting investit dans la construction de la salle Henri Simonet entre 1969 et 1972.

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht D’un point de vue sportif, la suprématie anderlechtoise sur le championnat belge connait une certaine baisse de régime : le titre ne sera remporté qu’en 1972 et 1974. Par contre, la Coupe de Belgique sera remportée quatre fois (1972, 1973, 1975 et 1976).
Mais au niveau continental, le Sporting est devenu un club craint et respecté par le gratin européen. Ainsi après une finale perdue sur le fil contre Arsenal en Coupe des Villes de Foire en 1970, Anderlecht remportera deux Coupes des Vainqueurs de Coupe (CE2) en 1976 et 1978 et deux Supercoupe de l’UEFA les mêmes années. Le matricule 35 dominera ainsi des clubs prestigieux tels que le Bayern Munich, Liverpool et West Ham (et dans une moindre mesure l’Austria de Vienne).
Pour les gros matches européens, Anderlecht sera tout de même contraint de jouer au Stade du Heysel, nettement plus grand.

Durant ces 20 glorieuses années, les meilleurs artistes du ballon rond fouleront la pelouse du Parc Astrid. Les internationaux belges (entre autres Paul Van Himst, Ludo Coeck, Jef Jurion, Wilfried Puis, Martin Lippens et Jacques Stockman), néerlandais (Jan Mulder, Arie Haan et Robbie Rensenbrink) et hongrois (Attila Ladinsky) enchanteront durant de longues années le fidèle public anderlechtois.
Le Sporting est alors réputé pour son jeu très technique mais aussi organisé. De grands entraineurs internationaux ont également officié à l'avenue Théo Verbeeck. Citons entre autres Norberto Höfling, Pierre Sinibaldi, Georg Kessler, Urbain Braems, Hans Croon, Raymond Goethals et Tomislav Ivić.

Les années 70 verront également débarqué un homme qui marquera de façon indélébile le club et le stade du Sporting : Constant Vanden Stock.
Dirigeant de la brasserie Belle-Vue, ancien joueur de D1 et Diable Rouge, puis entraineur et sélectionneur national, il devient président en 1971. Conscient qu’un stade peut rapporter plus d’argent qu’avec principalement les recettes de la billetterie, il imagine un stade révolutionnaire et qui sera cité en exemple dans le monde entier. La mue du vieux Stade Emile Versé peut débuter.

Parc Astrid

D’un stade de football à un théâtre, symbole du foot-business

Constant Vanden Stock imagine donc de nouveaux moyens pour augmenter le budget et inscrire ainsi durablement le club anderlechtois au faîte du football européen.
A ce moment, les recettes télé ne représentent encore qu’une infime partie des revenus du club et la majorité du budget est généré par une assistance conséquente aux matches des Mauves & Blancs. Mais plutôt que de miser sur une augmentation du nombre de supporters, Vanden Stock préfère privilégier une clientèle nettement plus rentable : les hommes d’affaire. Ceux-ci voient en effet d’un bon œil la possibilité de négocier de juteux contrats tout en ayant la possibilité d’assister à un match de foot. C’est ainsi que sont créés les business-seats et les loges. Pour son nouveau stade, Vanden Stock en mettra partout. A noter que pour la première fois, la conception du stade est conçue par ordinateur.
Le nouveau stade portera le nom de son président : Stade Constant Vanden Stock.

Coupe d'Europe des vainqueurs de Coupe Les premiers travaux débutent en 1983 et la vielle tribune assise est remplacée par une nouvelle construction unique : deux étages de places assises avec entre deux, un étage de 24 loges louées à l’année à prix d’or. En 1984, une tour garnie de 7 loges est érigée le long de l'avenue Théo Verbeeck tandis qu’en face de la tribune principale, une construction similaire (mais avec 600 business-seats à la place des loges) est construite en 1986.
En 1988, les gradins autrefois occupés par le kop du Sporting sont rasés et remplacés par une nouvelle tribune équipée de 400 business-seats. Enfin, en 1991, la tribune « Elascon » disparait au profit de 8 loges, 550 business-seats et des places assises et debout.
La nouvelle capacité n’est plus que d’un peu plus de 28.000 places, dont plus de 2.000 places en places de luxe. Les rentrées d’argent seront multipliées.
A ce moment, on se dit que Vanden Stock a eu une idée de génie. Mais...

Point de vue sportif, les années 80 voient toujours une certaine domination du Sporting sur la scène européenne. Mais Anderlecht n’est plus le seul club belge à briller. Si le FC Bruges avait déjà atteint la finale de la CE3 en 1976 et de la Coupe des Clubs Champions (CE1) en 1978 à chaque fois contre Liverpool, c’est désormais au tour du Standard (finale perdue de la CE2 en 1982 contre le FC Barcelone) mais surtout au tour du FC Malines de s’imposer en Europe. Le club malinois remporte ainsi la CE2 en 1988 face à l’Ajax Amsterdam (1-0). Anderlecht remporte néanmoins le CE3 en 1983 contre le Benfica Lisbonne (2-1).
Sur la scène domestique, le club se voit sacré en 1981, 1985, 1986 et 1987 et remporte la Coupe de Belgique en 1988 et 1989.

Stade Constant Vanden Stock

Des droits de télé qui explosent et un stade trop petit

Les calculs de Vanden Stock n’avaient pas prévu l’explosion des droits de retransmission télévisuelle. Ceux-ci favoriseront dès les années 90 les grands pays au détriment des plus petits. En effet, plus un pays est peuplé, plus il y a de spectateurs potentiels et plus les droits y sont élevés.
La Belgique, avec ses 10 millions d’habitants, n’est pas capable de rivaliser. L’arrêt Bosman a également porté un coup fatal aux clubs belges. Anderlecht dispute sa dernière finale européenne contre la Sampdoria de Gênes en 1990 (CE2, défaite 2-0).
L’Antwerp est encore parvenu à disputer une finale européenne en 1993 (CE2 contre Parme AC, défaite 3-1) mais ça sera la dernière finale disputée par un club belge. Les résultats d’Anderlecht suivent évidemment la même pente et le prestigieux club bruxellois deviendra même la risée du foot européen en affichant un lamentable 0 sur 18 lors de sa participation à la Ligue des Champions en 2004-2005. Quelques coups d’éclats sont tout de même répertoriés mais Anderlecht (et le foot belge en général) ne fait plus peur. Que du contraire...

Pour le stade, le durcissement des règles de sécurité de l’UEFA fera descendre la capacité d’accueil à seulement 21.000 places pour les joutes européennes. L’Euro 2000 ne sera pas escale au Parc Astrid.

Stade Constant Vanden Stock

Des projets restant lettre morte

Pour la présidence du club, Constant cède sa place à son fils Roger en 1996, après 25 ans de service.
La fin du règne de Constant sera marquée par un scandale : l’affaire Anderlecht-Nottingham Forest.
Anderlecht se trouve au milieu des années 2000 face à un dilemme : soit le stade est un peu agrandi (sa situation en pleine ville ne favorise pas un projet très ambitieux), soit le club déménage hors d’Anderlecht et perd définitivement son identité.
Quelques rénovations sont tout de même entamées, à savoir le remplacement de l’éclairage (2006) et des sièges (2012), ainsi que la réfection des gradins. Ces travaux font encore chuter la capacité à 26.000 places.
Anderlecht continue de truster les premiers prix mais sa domination sur le football belge est mise à mal par le FC Bruges, le Standard, La Gantoise et le RC Genk. Ainsi, entre 1990 et 2016, seuls huit championnats ont été remportés par les Mauves & Blancs (1990, 1992, 1996, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2009 et 2016). Quant à la Coupe de Belgique, c’est encore pire puisque durant la même période, seulement deux trophées sont remportés (1994 et 2008).

Parc Astrid

La fin de l’ère Vanden Stock

En 2018, l’inimaginable arriva : Roger Vanden Stock met le club de son cœur en vente. Plusieurs candidats se pressent au portillon et c’est finalement le milliardaire (et accessoirement président du KV Ostende) Marc Coucke qui remporte la présidence. L’ère Vanden Stock aura duré 46 ans et compte un palmarès impressionnant : 20 titres de champions, 8 Coupes de Belgique, 13 Supercoupes de Belgique, 2 Coupes des Vainqueurs de Coupe, 1 Coupe UEFA et 2 Supercoupes d’Europe.

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht Avec l’espoir du renouveau (surtout en Coupes d’Europe), le club entame la saison 2018-2019 avec le plein d’optimisme et nombre de transferts. Las, la mayonnaise ne prend pas et le club réussit le bien peu enviable exploit de faire le plus mauvais résultat depuis la saison 1972-1973 et pire encore, ne parvient même pas à se qualifier pour l’Europe. Une triste première en 55 ans de présence ininterrompue en compétitions continentales.
Entre temps, le club cède à la mode débile du naming et contre un contrat lucratif, le stade est désormais appelé Lotto Park. D’une simple signature, l’héritage des Vanden Stock est envoyé aux oubliettes.

Qu’adviendra-t-il de la vénérable enceinte ? Le club pourra-t-il un jour retrouver son prestige ?
Rien n’est moins sûr...

Parc Astrid

Le Stade Emile Versé à ses débuts. Une tribune en bois et c’est tout.

Parc Astrid

Vers 1935, des gradins en béton ceinturent le terrain.

Parc Astrid

Vue aérienne en 1946. Les gradins sont agrandis tandis qu’une nouvelle tribune assise est érigée. Le club peut fêter son premier titre dans un stade rénové.

Parc Astrid

Le succès aidant, les travées du Parc Astrid sont régulièrement bondées dès les années 50.

Parc Astrid

Le stade en 1959. La tribune assise a été prolongée sur toute la longueur du terrain tandis que l’éclairage artificiel fait son apparition.

Parc Astrid

La tribune « Elascon » en 1966. Cette construction audacieuse portera la capacité du stade à 40.000 places.

Parc Astrid

Progressivement, toutes les tribunes seront équipées d’un toit. L’Euro 72 sera organisé dans cette configuration.

Parc Astrid

Un stade vétuste indigne d’un ténor européen. C’est ce que pense Constant Vanden Stock à la fin des années 70.

Parc Astrid

Le vieux Stade Emile Versé à l’aube des années 80. Une transformation radicale va bientôt s’opérer.

Parc Astrid

1983 : début des grands travaux. La nouvelle tribune I en construction.

Parc Astrid

En 1986, la tribune latérale côté parc est détruite et remplacée par une nouvelle tribune de 7.400 places.

Parc Astrid

Pendant deux ans, les deux tribunes de buts sont encore d’origine.

Parc Astrid

Comme partout, l’hooliganisme est présent dans les travées du Parc Astrid. Ici, le O-Side est particulièrement redouté.

Parc Astrid

Jonction entre la nouvelle tribune I et la vieille tribune « Elascon ».

Parc Astrid

La belle façade typique des années 80. Le stade reçut le premier prix d'architecture et sport décerné par le Comité International Olympique. Le portail date des années 50.

Parc Astrid

Tous les sièges sont oranges. Pourquoi ? Sinon, la sécurité et le confort du spectateur, ainsi que sa bonne vision du terrain ont été des facteurs importants dans la conception du stade.

Parc Astrid

De par sa présence dans un parc d’un côté et d’un tissu urbain fort dense de l’autre, le Stade Constant Vanden Stock ne peut être étendu à l’infini.

Parc Astrid

La salle Simonet se trouve à gauche. En cas d’agrandissement du stade, elle disparaitra.

Parc Astrid

L’un des projets d’agrandissement du stade : ajout d’un troisième étage et une capacité comprise entre 30.000 et 35.000 places.

Parc Astrid

Les sièges sont enfin mauves et blancs. Le stade gagne encore en confort mais perd en capacité.

Parc Astrid

Les gradins du Kop. Les plus fervents supporters regrettent l’ancien stade et son ambiance surchauffée.

Parc Astrid

La tribune I. Malheureusement, l’aseptisation des stades plombe l’atmosphère partout en Europe.

Parc Astrid

Mais Anderlecht peut moins se prévaloir de garder son identité et son foyer.

Parc Astrid

Le Parc Astrid reste un beau petit stade malgré tout.

Parc Astrid

Tant de victoires ont eu lieu ici.

Parc Astrid

Quant à son nouveau nom, no comment !

12
février 2020
Retour


Note

  1. Cet article provient de mon ancien site www.foothisto.be mais n’a jamais été publié.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement (février 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500