Bosuilstadion

From Hell of Deurne to a sanitized theater.
From the prestigious stadium, which hosted the replay of the 1964 Cup Winners' Cup final, the Euro 72 and innumerable Low Countries' derbies, there is only one grandstand.
But for how long ? Indeed, the old stadium of Deurne is more and more threatened.

Bosuilstadion

The oldest Belgian club without a fixed address

Royal Antwerp FC Founded in 1880, the Royal Antwerp Football Club will take more than forty years to find a final home.
Moving five times, the Reds and Whites have successively played on the following grounds : Wilrycksche Plein in the district of Kiel (1880-1893), Transvaalstraat in Berchem (for two years), on a field near the velodrome Zurenborg in Berchem (still during two years), in this same velodrome (1897-1903), Kruisstraat in Kiel (1903-1908) and finally in the stadium of Broodstraat, still in Kiel (1908-1923). It is amusing to note that three times the Sinjoren have played in the neighborhood of their historical rival, the Beerschot.
Although Antwerp FC played no significant role before the war, the number 1 was supported by a growing crowd. It was high time for the club to anchor in a large stadium to retain the public who will not let go of the club anymore.
It was done in 1923 when the management buys a plot of 30 hectares in the town of Deurne. This purchase, at a price defying all competition, has been at the origin of a discord that will become an endemic problem to Antwerp. While only 8 hectares were needed for the construction of the stadium, several administrators felt that it was better to buy a larger piece of land to encourage the emergence of a commercial activity around the club, something that was strictly forbidden at the time by the Belgian Federation ! The amateurish trend against professionalism has continued until the explosion that has leaded Antwerp into lethargy for a few years. At the same time, a new amateur club was founded (referred to simply as "the Antwerp") and took the place of the RAFC in the stands of Bosuil. Fortunately, the various eventually fade and the club could calmly celebrate his first title of Belgian Champion in 1929.

Bosuilstadion

60,000 places

The Bosuil was inaugurated on 1 November 1923 during a friendly match between Belgium and England (2-2). The designers of the time have not forgotten the aesthetics of the stadium : the tribune 1 has small accents of Art Deco and an elegant Greek colonnade dominates the tribune 2. This last has disappeared in 1930 and will be replaced by a roof covering the tribune 2.
Of the 38,000 places of origin, the stadium was quickly adapted in 1936 to accommodate up to 50,700 people. This expansion is justified by the holding of the annual derby of the Low Countries. Each year, Belgium receives its Dutch neighbor for matches that have rarely been peaceful. It was at this time that the stadium earned its nickname "Hell of Deurne".
The stadium consists of a main sitting grandstand and a series of tiers surrounding the pitch on three sides. Tribune 1 can seat 7,000 people in seating, tribune 2 13,000 and the two ends hold about 32,000 standing places.
At that time, only the Heysel stadium has an equivalent capacity in Belgium.
In 1956, the capacity will increase again with the construction of the third floor of the end stands. The maximum capacity is then reached : 60,000 places.

In the meantime, three new national titles have awarded to the Great Old Club (1931, 1944, 1957).
The latter title allows Antwerp to take its first steps in the new continental competition created by UEFA : the Champions Clubs' Cup. By way of introduction, the Antwerp has been more than spoiled as they face neither more nor less than the great Real Madrid. This first match has been the record attendance for Antwerp : 55,000 people. If the resistance of the Antwerp allows to be beaten only on the wire (1-2), the return match in Chamartin has been a real punishment : 6-0.
Subsequently, other big names will come to rub shoulders with the infernal atmosphere of Deurne in the context of European competitions, with various fortunes for the Antwerp.
The good quality of the facilities and the reputation of the atmosphere have leaded the UEFA to designate the Bosuil as part of the replay of the final of the Cup Winner's Cup 1964. If the first round (played at the Heysel) between Sporting Lisbon (Portugal) and the MTK Budapest (Hungary) ended with a 3-3, the second has seen the Lisbonists triumph by 1 to 0. Unfortunately, this final has been followed by only 18,000 spectators.

Euro 72 In 1972, the final phase of the European Football Championship (now known as the Euro) has been organized in Belgium.
In the company of the Bosuil, the Heysel, the Parc Astrid (both in Brussels) and Sclessin (Liège) will host the seven matches of the competition.
The semifinal between Belgium and West Germany has set the record attendance for the stadium : 56,000 spectators. But this match has also been synonymous with elimination for the Red Devils (1-2). The Belgians have nevertheless obtained a third honorific place after a 2-1 win against Hungary in Sclessin.
As for the final, it has opposed the Federal Republic of Germany to the USSR at the Heysel (3-0 for the Germans).

Royal Antwerp FC Concerning the Antwerp, Deurne has become famous as the place of "Miracle of Vitosha".
During the 1989-1990 season, Antwerp reached the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup. After a 0-0 against Vitosha Sofia in Bulgaria, the Reds and Whites had taken an option on qualifying for the next round. Alas, the game at Bosuil quickly turned to confusion and the Antwerp will be led 1 to 3 10 minutes from the end of the match.
Adding to the demobilization of Belgian players, the Antwerp was reduced to 10 after the injury of Captain Francky Dekenne (the three changes had already occurred). Miraculously, the referee added 6 minutes into the game and the unthinkable happened : Nico Claesen brought the score down to 2-3, then the madness caught the Bosuil. Three new goals were scored up in the cage of the unfortunate Bulgarian goalkeeper (by the inevitable Claesen and the veteran Raphael Quaranta). Final score 4-3 ! Doped by this unexpected result, Antwerp has kicked out of the competition Dundee United and VfB Stuttgart.
In the quarter-finals, FC Cologne was too strong the Antwerp. Nevertheless, the result against Vitosha had made the tour of Europe. From now on, Antwerp had its place on the map of European football.

Bosuilstadion

Decrepitude

If the sporting aspect was relatively good for Antwerp, the infrastructures suffered from a total lack of maintenance.
At the end of the 80s, the upper (and therefore the most recent) of the end stands has worrying signs of fatigue. The upper tiers are closed and the capacity will inevitably go down.
On May 14th, 1991, Antwerp played its last game in a Bosuil having its historical form (friendly match against the Moroccan club of IRT Tangier). The next day, bulldozers demolished the tribune side Deurne (the one on the right during the televised matches). Four months later, the Atrium Complex was inaugurated with 800 business-seats.
In addition, the hooliganism was wreaking havoc at that time and a serious subdivision of supporters was applicable in the stadium. As a result, the capacity fell to 20,300 places.

After a few bland seasons, the Antwerp is on the front of the stage (both Belgian and European) by winning its second Belgian Cup in 1992 (the first was won in 1955). After a fierce final against Club Malinois (22 shots on goal were needed to name the winner), the Coupe des Coupes found the valuable Great Old. After disposing of Glenavon FC clubs, Admira Wacker, Steaua Bucharest and Spartak Moscow, the Antwerpers have crossed swords with the Italians of Parma. The final, that year was held in the legendary Wembley, London seeing, for the occasion, the landing of 20,000 RAFC's fans. But Parma was too strong and the Antwerp returned to the Bosuil with a 3-1 defeat in the suitcases.
This final has been the last played by a Belgian club... The golden age of the Antwerp was at the same time behind it.

If some matches of Intertoto Cup have still taken place at the end of the 90's, the Antwerp has slided irremediably towards the problems.
The year 2000 should have been that of renewal for the Bosuil. The Euro 2000 was organized jointly by Belgium and the Netherlands and logically, a city like Antwerp had been associated with the project. Unfortunately, internal quarrels between the club and the city have pushed the organization of the Euro to eject Antwerp. Plans had been drawn but never work will start.
Royal Antwerp FC Worse, the end tribune (Merksem side) is closed by the city, forcing the Reds and Whites to play the first games of the 1997-1998 season away from home. This chaotic start of the competition has been fatal to the club and a fall in Division 2 hasl awaited the Antwerp at the end of the season. The next season in D2 has seen the stadium be amputated from the tribune. Fortunately, the Antwerp goes back immediately in first division.
But the rot set in : the finances are in the red and several closures of the stadium intervene (fall of part of the roof of the grandstand, collapse of a lighting pylon after a storm, fences of non-compliant security). A new stand of 3,000 seats is nevertheless built behind the goal. Subsequently, a new sporting relegation pushes the Antwerpians out of the D1.

Bosuilstadion

In Division 2

Between 2004 and 2016, the glorious Antwerp club stayed in D2.
Between power struggles and financial worries, the Antwerp still manages to live seasons quiet on the sporting level, with from time to time a qualification for the Final Tour.
This forced stay at the second level of the competition forces the club to have to stay with this stadium become frankly obsolete. A small refreshment took place in 2008 but the illusion did not last long.
And yet... If the amateur of football wanted to discover the last true stadium in Belgium, it is indeed with the Bosuil that he would have found it. Here, the traditions are still more than alive, we feel that the place has a great experience and the atmosphere of match is still hot.
Despite overall disappointing results, the RAFC was able to count on an average of 6,000 spectators. Not all D1 clubs can say the same.

In terms of infrastructure, a closure of the main grandstand has felt in 2014.
Only the parts under the bleachers (cloakrooms, refreshments, offices) were still accessible but the bleachers and the electrical installation were declared dangerous. In addition, the roof was no longer one.
Immediately, the club takes things in hand and renovates block E, reserved for visitors. Unfortunately, the authorities still don't allow the reuse of the main stand : a renovation of the building in depth became a necessity. Rather than demolish everything, the club has a solution for the least original : the walls are preserved, the roof renovated but the concrete steps are demolished and replaced by a metal structure.
The inauguration took place in April 2015. The aesthetics of the new stand could lend a smile but no matter, the Antwerp recovered the use of its venerable main stand. The capacity of the stadium drops to 12,975 places.

The centenary of the stadium arrived slowly and we could hope to celebrate in the original facilities, which would have always been a unique case. Unfortunately for the old walls, the sport level was rising again and the return to D1 of Great Old could finally be celebrated at the end of the 2015-2016 season.

Bosuilstadion

Demolition of a newly renovated tribune

The season 2016-2017 sees the return in Division 1 of the dean of Belgian clubs. Finally !
But the Antwerp wasn't free from its infrastructure concerns. The authorities did not grant permission for the use of the main stand, which had been freshly renovated. An aberration !
The Antwerp had no choice but to say goodbye to his relic and demolish everything. In just 20 weeks, a brand new (and huge) stand out of the ground : 5,600 seats, skyboxes, business-seats and a 700-seat restaurant. Once inaugurated, the project of rebuilding the three other tribunes appeared quickly.
Given the presence of skyboxes and business-seats in the new main stand, the Atrium Complex has become superfluous : it has been demolished in 2019. Then remain the stand built in 2001 and finally the venerable tribune 2, the soul of Bosuil. Once the latter has disappeared, the Hell of Deurne will be nothing more than a memory and the Antwerp fans will have to settle for a modern arena as there are hundreds of others.
The era of football stadia is over, place to sanitized theaters.

Bosuilstadion

Velodrome Zurenborg (1897-1903).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Broodstraat Stadion, capacity of 5,350 places (1908-1923).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Beginning of the construction of the Bosuil in 1923. This structure will remain standing until 2015.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The Bosuil at its inauguration, in 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The main stand, and its pond.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The grandstand, built in "artificial reinforced stone".

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

A long facade with some suspicions of Art Deco.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The monument erected in honor of members of Royal Antwerp FC who died during the two world wars. Scandalously demolished in 1980.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Aerial view of the stadium in 1930, shortly before the first expansion. The colonnade has already disappeared.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Expansion work in 1936.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The capacity increases from 38,000 to almost 50,700 places.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Just after the first extension works, in 1937.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Gymnastics Festival organized by the Antwerp Catholic Youth on June 11, 1949. There were up to 20,000 participants.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The stadium of Deurne during Belgium-Netherlands (2-0) on April 16, 1950 with 45.432 spectators present.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

One of the traditional Belgium - Netherlands in 1956 (0-1).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

During a match in 1957. The third floor of the stands has just been built the year before.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The massive structure of the stadium since the Jan Welterslaan.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

On October 11, 1961 the lighting is inaugurated. This modern and powerful installation (500 lux) will remain in operation until 2017.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Another traditional Belgium-Netherlands derby in the 1960's. The last derby will be played here in 1977 (0-2).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The Bosuil ready to welcome Euro 72.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The new scoreboard, installed in 1977.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

In 1987, and for the last time, the big crowd rushes to Bosuil to attend the victory of Antwerp against Anderlecht (2-0). There were about 40,000 people in the stands.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

One of the last views of the Bosuil fully operational.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

At the very end of the 80's, the end stands partly closed. This is the beginning of the end for the Bosuil.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The main stand, unchanged since 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The Merksem side stand 3. After the 3rd floor closed, it is the turn of the second to be condemned. The state of the stadium is deteriorating more and more.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Stand 3 from Oud Bosuilbaan.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The south stand 4 just before it was demolished in 1991. The stadium has lost its historic form at that time and the capacity has fell to 20,300 places.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

In a few months, the Atrium Complex is open. Home to 800 business-seats, this building has disfigured the Bosuil for 28 years.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Atrium Complex durint the 2000's.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Demolition of former grandstand 3 in 1999. Only the two side stands remain from the original stadium.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The stand 3, built in 2001 and can accommodate a little less than 3,000 people. The Bosuil can accommodate from that moment about 16,500 people.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The age-old main grandstand of 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Block E, reserved for visitors. This part of the main grandstand has been renovated for the first time in 2014 but hasn’t been used.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Block E renovated and never used, to then be replaced by a metal structure in 2015 to finally be demolished in 2016.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Facade of the main stand.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The huge tribune 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

With a capacity of between 11,000 and 13,000 seats, this is where the most ardent supporters of Antwerp meet.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The intricate internal structure of the grandstand 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The central tunnel dating from 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Rear facade of the grandstand 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Beginning of the renovation of the grandstand 1 in 2015. The roof has been renovated while old concrete stands worn by time has been demolished.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The main grandstand freshly renovated.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

It was believed at the time that this venerable construction would remain standing for a long time...

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

In 2016, total demolition of the ancient grandstand 1.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The new ultramodern grandstand.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

The Bosuil is now a modern stadium.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Fortunately, the RAFC retains its traditions, in default of being able to keep its home.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Place to modernism...

5

April 2015

Return


Notes

  • This article comes from my former website foothisto.be and was published on April 5, 2015.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated lately.
  • • Pictures belong to their respective authors.

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

1000

Bosuilstadion

De l’Enfer de Deurne vers un théâtre aseptisé.
De la prestigieuse enceinte qui accueilli le replay de la finale de la Coupe des Vainqueurs de Coupe 1964, l'Euro 72 et d’innombrables derbys des Plats Pays, il n’en reste qu’une tribune.
Mais pour combien de temps ? En effet, le vieux stade de Deurne est de plus en plus menacé.

Bosuilstadion

Le doyen des clubs belges sans domicile fixe

Royal Antwerp FC Porté sur les fonts baptismaux en 1880, le Royal Antwerp Football Club mettra plus de quarante ans avant de se trouver un foyer définitif.
Déménageant à cinq reprises, les Rouges et Blanc évolueront successivement sur les terrains suivants : Wilrycksche Plein dans le quartier du Kiel (1880-1893), Transvaalstraat à Berchem (pendant deux ans), sur un terrain proche du vélodrome Zurenborg à Berchem (toujours pendant deux ans), dans ce vélodrome même (1897-1903), Kruisstraat au Kiel (1903-1908) et enfin dans le stade de la Broodstraat, toujours au Kiel (1908-1923). Il est amusant de noter que par trois fois, les Sinjoren ont joué dans le quartier de leur rival historique, le Beerschot.
Même si l’Antwerp n’a joué aucun rôle significatif avant-guerre, le matricule 1 était soutenu par une foule de plus en plus nombreuse. Il était grand temps pour le club de s’ancrer dans une grande enceinte afin de fidéliser ce public qui ne lâchera plus le club.
C’est chose faite en 1923 quand la direction achète un terrain de 30 hectares dans la commune de Deurne. Cet achat, à un prix défiant toute concurrence, sera à l’origine d’une discorde qui deviendra un mal endémique à l’Antwerp. Alors que seuls 8 hectares étaient nécessaires à la construction du stade, plusieurs administrateurs estimèrent qu’il valait mieux acquérir un plus grand terrain pour favoriser l’éclosion d’une activité commerciale autour du club, chose qui était formellement interdite par l’Union Belge à l’époque ! La tendance amateur contre professionnalisme continuera de plus belle jusqu’à l’explosion qui conduira l’Antwerp en léthargie pour quelques années. Parallèlement, un nouveau club amateur fut fondé (dénommé sobrement « l’Antwerp ») et prit la place du matricule 1 dans les travées du Bosuil. Heureusement, les différents finirent par s’estomper et le club put fêter sereinement son premier titre de Champion de Belgique en 1929.

Bosuilstadion

60.000 places

Le Bosuil fut inauguré le 1er novembre 1923 à l'occasion d'un match amical Belgique-Angleterre (2-2). Les concepteurs de l’époque n’ont pas oublié l’esthétique du stade : la tribune 1 a de petits accents d’Art Déco tandis qu’une élégante colonnade grecque domine la tribune 2. Cette dernière disparaitra dès 1930 et sera remplacée par une toiture recouvrant la tribune 2.
Des 38.000 places d’origines, le stade est rapidement adapté en 1936 pour accueillir jusque 50.700 personnes. Cet agrandissement est justifié par la tenue de l’annuel derby des Plats Pays. Chaque année, la Belgique reçoit son voisin néerlandais pour des matches qui ne se sont révélés que rarement paisibles. C’est à cette époque que le stade gagne son surnom d’« Enfer de Deurne ».
Le stade se compose alors d’une tribune principale assise et d’une série de gradins entourant le terrain sur trois côtés. La tribune 1 peut accueillir 7.000 personnes en places assises, la tribune 2 13.000 et les deux tribunes de buts abritent environ 32.000 places debout.
A cette époque, seul le stade du Heysel possède une capacité équivalente en Belgique.
En 1956, la capacité augmentera encore avec la construction du troisième étage des tribunes de buts. La capacité maximale est alors atteinte : 60.000 places.

Entretemps, trois nouveaux sacres nationaux viendront garnir la vitrine à trophée du Great OId (1931, 1944, 1957).
Ce dernier sacre permet à l’Antwerp de faire ses premiers pas dans la nouvelle compétition continentale crée par l’UEFA : la Coupe des Clubs Champions. En guise d’entrée en matière, les anversois seront plus que gâtés puisqu’ils affronteront ni plus ni moins que le grand Real de Madrid. Ce premier match constituera d’ailleurs le record d’affluence pour l’Antwerp : 55.000 personnes. Si la résistance de l’Antwerp permet de n’être battu que sur le fil (1-2), le match retour à Chamartin sera, par contre, une véritable punition : un cinglant 6-0.
Par la suite, d’autres grands noms viendront se frotter à l’ambiance infernale de Deurne dans le cadre de joutes européennes, avec des fortunes diverses pour les anversois.
La bonne qualité des installations et la réputation de l’ambiance conduiront l’UEFA à désigner le Bosuil comme cadre du replay de la finale de la Coupe des Coupes 1964. Si la première manche (jouée au Heysel de Bruxelles) entre le Sporting Lisbonne (Portugal) et le MTK Budapest (Hongrie) s’était soldé par un 3 - 3, la seconde manche verra les lisboètes triompher par 1 à 0. Malheureusement, cette finale ne sera suivie que par 18.000 malheureux spectateurs.

Euro 72 En 1972, la phase finale du Championnat d'Europe de Football (que l’on appelle aujourd’hui l’Euro) sera organisée en Belgique.
En compagnie du Bosuil, le Heysel, le Parc Astrid (tous deux à Bruxelles) et Sclessin (Liège) abriteront les sept matches de la compétition.
La demi-finale entre la Belgique et l’Allemagne de l’Ouest établira le record d’affluence pour le stade : 56.000 spectateurs. Mais ce match sera aussi synonyme d’élimination pour les Diables Rouges (1-2). Les belges obtiendront néanmoins une troisième place honorifique après une victoire 2-1 face à la Hongrie, à Sclessin.
Quant à la finale, elle opposera la RFA à l’URSS au Heysel (score 3-0 pour les allemands).

Royal Antwerp FC Concernant l’Antwerp, Deurne deviendra célèbre comme étant le théâtre du « Miracle de Vitosha ».
Pendant la saison 1989-1990, l’Antwerp atteignit les quarts de finale de la Coupe de l'UEFA. Après un partage (0-0) contre le Vitosha Sofia en Bulgarie, les Rouges et Blancs avaient pris une option sur la qualification pour le tour suivant. Las, le match au Bosuil tourna rapidement à la confusion et les anversois seront menés 1 à 3 à une petite minute du terme de la rencontre.
Ajoutant à la démobilisation des joueurs belges, l’Antwerp fut réduit à 10 après la blessure du capitaine Francky Dekenne (les trois changements avaient déjà eu lieu). Miraculeusement, l’arbitre ajouta 6 minutes de jeu et l’impensable arriva : Nico Claesen ramena le score à 2-3 puis la folie s’empara du Bosuil. Trois nouveaux buts s’empilèrent dans la cage du malheureux gardien bulgare (par l’inévitable Claesen et le vétéran Raphaël Quaranta). Score final 4-3 ! Dopés par ce résultat inespéré, les anversois bouteront hors de la compétition Dundee United et le VfB Stuttgart.
En quart de finale, le FC Cologne se révélera être un os trop dur à ronger pour l’Antwerp. Il n’empêche que le résultat contre le Vitosha avait fait le tour de l’Europe. Désormais, l’Antwerp avait sa place sur la carte du foot européen.

Bosuilstadion

Délabrement

Si l’aspect sportif allait relativement bien pour l’Antwerp, les infrastructures souffrirent d’un manque total d’entretien.
Fin des années 80, la partie supérieure (et donc la plus récente) des tribunes de buts présente d’inquiétants signes de fatigue. Les gradins du haut sont donc fermés et la capacité d’accueil ira forcément en diminuant.
Le 14 mai 1991, l’Antwerp joua sa dernière rencontre dans un Bosuil ayant sa forme historique (match amical contre le club marocain d'IRT Tanger). Dès le lendemain, les bulldozers démolirent la tribune côté Deurne (celle de droite lors des matches télévisés). Quatre mois plus tard, fut inauguré l'Atrium Complex avec 800 business-seats.
De plus, l’hooliganisme faisait des ravages à cette époque et un sérieux compartimentage des supporters était d’application dans l’enceinte. Résultat, la capacité tomba à 20.300 places.

Après quelques saisons mi-figue mi-raisin, l’Antwerp se retrouve sur le devant de la scène (tant belge qu’européenne) en remportant sa deuxième Coupe de Belgique en 1992 (la première avait été gagnée en 1955). Après une finale acharnée contre le Club Malinois (22 tirs au but furent nécessaires pour désigner le vainqueur), la Coupe des Coupes retrouva le valeureux matricule 1. Après avoir disposé des clubs de Glenavon FC, Admira Wacker, Steaua Bucarest et du Spartak Moscou, les anversois croiseront le fer avec les italiens de Parme. La finale, cette année-là avait lieu dans le mythique Wembley, Londres voyant, pour l’occasion, le débarquement de 20.000 supporters anversois. Mais Parme était trop fort et l’Antwerp retourna au Bosuil avec une défaite 3 - 1 dans les valises.
Cette finale sera la dernière disputée par un club belge... L’âge d’or de l’Antwerp était par la même occasion derrière lui.

Si quelques rencontres d’Intertoto auront encore lieu fin des années 90, l’Antwerp glissera irrémédiablement vers les problèmes.
L’an 2000 aurait dû être celui du renouveau pour le Bosuil. L’Euro 2000 avait été organisé conjointement par la Belgique et les Pays-Bas et fort logiquement, une ville comme Anvers avait été associée au projet. Malheureusement, des querelles intestines entre le club et la ville pousseront l’organisation de l’Euro à éjecter Anvers. Des plans avaient été dessinés mais jamais les travaux ne démarreront.
Royal Antwerp FC Pire, la tribune debout (côté Merksem) est fermée par la ville, ce qui oblige les Rouges et Blancs à devoir disputer les premiers matches de la saison 1997-1998 hors de leur domicile. Ce début de compétition chaotique sera fatal au club et une chute en division 2 attendra les anversois en fin de saison. La saison suivante en D2 verra le stade être amputé de la tribune incriminée. Heureusement, l’Antwerp remonte de suite en première division.
Mais le ver était dans le fruit : les finances sont dans le rouge et plusieurs fermetures du stade interviennent (chute d’une partie de la toiture de la grande tribune latérale, effondrement d’un pylône d’éclairage suite à une tempête, grillages de sécurité non conformes). Une nouvelle tribune de 3.000 places assises est néanmoins construite derrière le but. Par la suite, une nouvelle relégation sportive pousse les anversois hors de la D1.

Bosuilstadion

Dans l’antichambre de l’élite

Entre 2004 et 2016, le glorieux club anversois végéta en deuxième nationale.
Entre les luttes de pouvoir et les soucis financier, l’Antwerp parvient tout de même à vivre des saisons tranquilles sur le plan sportif, avec de temps à autre une qualification pour le Tour Final.
Ce séjour forcé au second niveau de la compétition oblige le club à devoir rester avec ce stade devenu franchement vétuste. Un petit rafraichissement a eu lieu en 2008 mais l’illusion ne dura guère.
Et pourtant... Si l’amateur de ballon rond voulait découvrir le dernier vrai stade en Belgique, c’est bien au Bosuil qu’il l’aurait trouvé. Ici, les traditions sont encore plus que vivaces, on sent que le lieu a un grand vécu et l’ambiance de match reste toujours aussi chaude.
Malgré des résultats globalement décevant, le matricule 1 a pu, compter sur une moyenne de 6.000 spectateurs. Tous les clubs de D1 ne peuvent pas en dire autant.

Pour ce qui est des infrastructures, une fermeture de la tribune principale tombera en 2014.
Seules les parties sous les gradins (vestiaires, buvettes, bureaux) étaient encore accessibles mais les gradins et l’installation électrique ont été déclarés dangereux. De plus, la toiture n’en était plus une.
Immédiatement, le club prend les choses en main et rénove le bloc E, réservé aux visiteurs. Las, les autorités n’accordent toujours pas la réutilisation de la tribune principale : une rénovation du bâtiment en profondeur devint une nécessité. Plutôt que de tout démolir, le club a une solution pour le moins originale : les murs sont conservés, la toiture rénovée mais les gradins en béton sont démolis et remplacés par une structure métallique.
L’inauguration eut lieu en avril 2015. L’esthétique de la nouvelle tribune pouvait prêter à sourire mais qu’importe, l’Antwerp récupérait l’usage de sa vénérable tribune principale. La capacité du stade chute à 12.975 places.

Le centenaire du stade arrivait tout doucement et l’on aurait pu espérer le fêter dans les installations d’origine, ce qui aurait immanquablement été un cas unique. Malheureusement pour les vieux murs, le niveau sportif repartait à la hausse et le retour en D1 du Great Old pu enfin être célébré à la fin de la saison 2015-2016.

Bosuilstadion

Démolition d’une tribune tout juste rénovée

La saison 2016-2017 voit le retour en Division 1 du doyen des clubs belges. Enfin !
Mais l’Antwerp n’en était pas quitte de ses soucis d’infrastructures. Les autorités n’accordèrent pas d’autorisation à l’utilisation de la tribune principale pourtant fraichement rénovée. Une aberration !
L’Antwerp n’eut d’autre choix que dire adieu à sa relique et de tout démolir. En quelques 20 semaines, une toute nouvelle (et immense) tribune sort de terre : 5.600 places assises, loges et business-seats et un restaurant de 700 places. Une fois inaugurée, le projet de reconstruire les trois autres tribunes apparût rapidement.
Vu la présence de loges et de business-seats dans la nouvelles tribune principale, l’Atrium Complex est devenu superflu : il sera démoli en 2019. Restera ensuite la tribune érigée en 2001 et enfin la vénérable tribune 2, l’âme du Bosuil. Une fois cette dernière disparue, l’Enfer de Deurne ne sera plus qu’un souvenir et les supporters de l’Antwerp devront se contenter d’une arène moderne comme il en existe des centaines d’autres.
L’ère des stades de football est révolue, place aux théâtres aseptisés.

Bosuilstadion

Vélodrome Zurenborg (1897-1903).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Broodstraat Stadion, capacité de 5.350 places (1908-1923).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Début de la construction du Bosuil en 1923. Cette structure restera debout jusqu’en 2015.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le Bosuil lors de son inauguration, en 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune principale, et son plan d’eau.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune principale, construite en « pierre artificielle armée ».

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Une longue façade avec quelques soupçons d’Art Déco.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le monument érigé en l’honneur des membres du Royal Antwerp FC morts pendant les deux guerres mondiales. Scandaleusement démoli en 1980.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Vue aérienne du stade en 1930, peu avant les premiers travaux d’agrandissement. La colonnade a déjà disparu.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Les travaux d’agrandissement en 1936.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La capacité d’accueil passe de 38.000 à près de 50.700 places.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Juste après les premiers travaux d’extension, en 1937.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Festival de gymnastique organisé par la Jeunesse Catholique Anversoise le 11 juin 1949. On pouvait y compter jusque 20.000 participants.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le stade de Deurne durant Belgique-Pays-Bas (2-0) le 16 avril 1950 avec 45.432 spectateurs présents.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Un des traditionnels Belgique - Pays-Bas en 1956 (0-1).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Lors d’un match en 1957. Le troisième étage des tribunes de buts vient d’être construit l’année précédente.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La structure massive du stade depuis la Jan Welterslaan.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le 11 octobre 1961 l’éclairage est inauguré. Cette installation moderne et puissante (500 lux) restera en fonction jusqu’en 2017.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Un autre traditionnel derby Belgique-Pays-Bas durant les années 60. Le dernier derby se jouera ici en 1977 (0-2).

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le Bosuil prêt à accueillir l’Euro 72.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le nouveau marquoir, installé en 1977.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

En 1987, et pour la dernière fois, la grande foule se presse au Bosuil pour assister à la victoire de l’Antwerp face à Anderlecht (2-0). On compte environ 40.000 personnes dans les gradins.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

L’une des dernières vues du Bosuil entièrement opérationnel.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

A la toute fin des années 80, les tribunes de buts en partie condamnées. C’est le début de la fin pour le Bosuil.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune principale, inchangée depuis 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune 3 côté Merksem. Après le 3ème étage fermé, c’est au tour du second à être condamné. L’état du stade se dégrade de plus en plus.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune 3 depuis l’Oud Bosuilbaan.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune 4 côté sud, juste avant sa démolition en 1991. Le stade perdra sa forme historique à ce moment-là et la capacité tombera à 20.300 places.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

En quelques mois, l’Atrium Complex est ouvert. Abritant 800 business-seats, ce bâtiment défigurera le Bosuil pendant 28 ans.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

L’Atrium Complex durant les années 2000.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Démolition de l’ancienne tribune 3 en 1999. Il ne reste plus du stade d’origine que les deux tribunes latérales.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune 3, construite en 2001 et pouvant accueillir un peu moins de 3.000 personnes. Le Bosuil peut accueillir à partir de ce moment-là environ 16.500 personnes.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

L’antique tribune principale de 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

 

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le bloc E, dévolu aux visiteurs. Cette partie de la tribune principale sera rénové une première fois en 2014 mais ne sera pas utilisée.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le bloc E rénové et jamais mis en service, pour ensuite être remplacé par une structure métallique en 2015 pour finalement être démoli en 2016.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Façade de la tribune principale.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

L’immense tribune 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

D’une capacité comprise entre 11.000 et 13.000 places, c’est là que se retrouvent les plus fervents supporters de l’Antwerp.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La structure interne complexe de la tribune 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le tunnel central datant de 1923.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Façade arrière de la tribune 2.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Début des travaux de rénovation de la tribune 1 en 2015. La toiture sera rénovée tandis que les vieux gradins en béton usés par le temps seront démolis.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La tribune principale fraichement rénovée.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

On croyait à l’époque que cette vénérable construction resterait debout encore longtemps...

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

En 2016, démolition totale de l’antique tribune 1.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

La nouvelle tribune ultramoderne.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Le Bosuil est désormais un stade moderne quelconque.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Heureusement, l’Antwerp conserve ses traditions, à défaut de garder son foyer.

Bosuilstadion

Bosuilstadion

Place au modernisme...

5

avril 2015

Retour


Note

  • Cet article provient de mon ancien site foothisto.be et a été publié le 5 avril 2015.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement.
  • Les images appartiennent à leurs auteurs respectifs.

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

1000