Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

23
April 2020

If the history of the Beerschot's lair itself is relatively clear, tracing the life of the resident club in Kiel since 1899 is another story : the Beerschot has always been an unstable club with a sulfurous reputation.
Summary of the story of a stadium of world significance.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Horse racetrack and betrayal as origins

Beerschot While the city of Antwerp has been living to the rhythm of football since 1880 thanks to Royal Antwerp FC, a new club was founded in 1899 south of the port city.
The origin of this new club is a sports facility created on an old horse racetrack. Usually, a club is founded then it seeks a ground to evolve there. In the case of Beerschot, it is the opposite since the club was created to occupy already existing facilities. Thus, the new club was founded by Ernest Grisar on September 3, 1899 and its colors will be purple and white. The origin of the name of the club comes from the site where it was founded : the Beerschotshof is a park located in the immediate vicinity of the stadium. As for the name of the stadium, it was also already found : we will first talk about the Kielstadion, the name of the district where it is located. Grisar died quickly but his son Alfred took over the leadership of the club.

The club, therefore called Beerschot Athletic Club, has a multi-sport vocation and in addition to football, has sections in hockey, tennis and athletic sports.
In 1900, in order to complete his team, Alfred Grisar did not hesitate to contact many players from Antwerp FC. They were disappointed with the loss of the Great Old in a test match against Racing Brussels for the title award and did not hesitate and joined the Kiel club. Antwerp FC found itself without players and went into inactivity. It didn't take much to create a tenacious rivalry that continues today. If there is a city where the supporters of the two main clubs hate each other, it is certainly in Antwerp that they can be found.

Beerschot The club’s affiliation to the Belgian federation allows it to participate in the championship. The Beerschot finished second behind Racing Brussels in its first season. This promising result, however, was not going to be forthcoming and the Beerschot had the sad honor of becoming the very first club relegated to Belgium. As the number of clubs continued to increase, the federation had no choice but to create several divisions to allow the many new clubs to play. So, at the end of the 1905-1906 season, the Beerschot fell into the newly created new second division.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Kiel, world epicenter of sport

1920 Olympic Games The attribution of the 1920 Olympic Games in Antwerp is due to a few exceptional circumstances. Indeed, the 7th edition was to be attributed to Berlin but the outbreak of the First World War decided otherwise. Once the conflict was over, a new designation was organized in 1919 in Lausanne. Were in the running Amsterdam (Netherlands), Lyon (France), Atlanta, Cleveland, Philadelphia (United States), Budapest (Hungary) and Havana (Cuba).
Budapest was initially designated as the host city, but since it was part of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire allied with Germany, it was withdrawn from the vote, as were the German, Austrian, Ottoman and Bulgarian cities. These evictions were against Pierre de Coubertin’s advice, but the ravages of the Great War were still too much alive. This is how Antwerp received the Olympics to pay tribute to the suffering inflicted on the Belgian people during the conflict.
Immediately, the port city had to build or adapt many sports facilities. Thus, a swimming pool, an ice palace, the Hoogboom Country Club and various other sites (notably in Ostend and Brussels) were built or adapted, in addition to the Kiel stadium. The stadium was enlarged to 35,000 places and a Greek-inspired decor was installed around the stands. In addition, an imposing pavilion is built at the entrance to the stadium and will serve as the official entrance. The stadium has two seated side stands (two tiers) and two terraces with standing places. The athletics track was developed by Britain's Charles Perry, the world's leading specialist on athletics tracks. As for the stadium itself, it would have been partly designed by the English architect Archibald Leitch, very famous at the time for having built the stadiums of Liverpool, Rangers and Celtic Glasgow, Arsenal, of the two stadiums of Manchester, Chelsea and Tottenham in particular.
Olympic flag Two symbols of the Games also made their first appearance in Antwerp : the flag and the oath. They are both still very present today.

Among the highlights is the performance of the Finnish Paavo Nurmi. The latter not only won the 10,000m run, individual cross and team cross, but also second place in the 5,000m run.
Another star of the time, French tenniswoman Suzanne Lenglen. She won three medals by winning the women's singles and mixed doubles titles.

1920 Olympic Gold Medal

1920 Olympic Gold Medal

As for football, the Red Devils will be crowned Olympic champions in special circumstances. The Belgians, exempt from the first round, will eliminate Spain and the Netherlands in the ¼ and ½ finals. In the final, they faced Czechoslovakia in a packed Kiel stadium. Alas, the Czechoslovaks abandoned the match in the 39th minute on the pretext of unfavorable arbitration. They were disqualified and the Belgians crowned Olympic champions. But the problems in football did not stop there. The match for the silver and bronze medalists couldn't take place since the French had already returned home. A second tournament was organized between Italy, Norway, Spain and Sweden on the one hand, and on the other a friendly match between Egypt and Yugoslavia. Spain rose to the final against the Netherlands (previously eliminated by the Belgians) and won the silver medal before the Dutch.
The title of the Belgians remains to this day the greatest feat of the Devils but it is often concealed. The circumstances of the victory and the invention of the World Cup ten years later will not help to remember this gold medal

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The golden age of Beerschot, then the hell

The Games ended, the Olympic decorations are unfortunately demolished and the Beerschot can take full possession of its stadium. The figuration that the Purples & Whites did before the war became a dominion of Belgian football. Between 1922 and 1939, no less than 7 titles will be awarded to beerschotmen (1922, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1928, 1938 and 1939). The Second World War put an end to this domination and the old club had to wait until the 1970's before returning to win trophies : the Belgian Cup was won in 1971 (against Sint-Truiden) and in 1979 against Club Brugge.
Beerschot The Beerschot subsequently returned to the ranks but still managed to stay in D1 for 73 years. The death of President Pierre Stoop in 1976 became synonymous with descent into hell for the Kiel club. The first time relegated for attempted corruption in 1981 against Beringen FC, the club went back up immediately but the fall continued even more.
The 80's and 90's were two dark decades for the club. Between tax adjustments (due in particular to forgery in writing or tax fraud) and administrative relegation in Division 3 (following a catastrophic financial situation). The 1990-1991 season will be the very last in Division 1. Going straight back to Division 2 at the end of the 1991-1992 season, the old club will manage to stabilize there for a few years but will fail to move up in D1. Finally, in 1999, the Beerschot finished last and was relegated to... the 4th division. Bloodless, the club forfeits will never play in the fourth division. The prestigious registration number 13 is struck off and its entire history is swept away.
For decades, the club has been unable to maintain its old stadium. The only major works were the creation of skyboxes in place of the first tier of the main stand. But the rest of the installations fell into disrepair and the second tier of the side stand was to be demolished in the early 1990's. The capacity fell to 14,000 places.

On June 12, 1999, the Beerschot is no more and its many supporters are left with nothing.
The club will have existed for 99 years and 9 months.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Relocation & modernization

Germinal Ekeren However, the Kiel cannot remain unoccupied. This stadium has such a past that a solution is quickly found to revive the site.
The Germinal Ekeren, a small club passed from the provincial series to the D1 in a few years, faces a stadium that is too small and impossible to enlarge. Indeed, the Veltwijckparkstadion is stuck in a protected site and will eventually have to be demolished. However, the club knows a real sporting success but can only count on a few supporters.
The club moves to the Kiel, adapts its colors (originally red and yellow, the purple of Beerschot is added) and changes its name to Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen, the new logo incorporating the main elements of the two former clubs.

Germinal Beerschot The new Beerschot can no longer be satisfied with a ruined stadium. Quickly, three stands were demolished and replaced by new constructions exclusively housing seat places. In addition, the famous athletics track disappears and the Kiel becomes a stadium exclusively reserved for football. From the Games stadium, only the second floor of the main stand remains. The capacity is set at 12,771 seats.
The club continued to grow and won the Belgian Cup in 2005, again facing the Club Brugge. It was thought at the time that the new Beerschot was on the right track, but the old demons returned to haunt the spans of Kiel.
Torn between the former supporters of old Beerschot and the leaders of the former Germinal, the club becomes unstable again and the sports results suffer. Registration number 3530 flirts with Division 2 for several seasons.
Beerschot Little by little, the leaders of the former Germinal are ejected and the club changes its name : we are now talking about the Koninklijke Beerschot Antwerpen Club (registration number 3530) and the colors red and yellow disappear.
Unfortunately, at the end of the 2012-2013 season, the club did not receive his professional license and was relegated to Division 3. As in 1999, the club threw in the towel and the registration number 3530 was struck off.
This is the end of the second version of Beerschot.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

A third life ?

History is stuttering...
The same scenario as in 1999 is implemented. The Kiel stadium (this time in perfect condition) must imperatively find a club and this time it is Koninklijke FC Olympia Wilrijk (number 155) who is invited to settle at the Olympic Stadium. Once again, the new occupant adapts to the prestigious past of the stadium by changing its name and coat of arms in 2013.
And as with the ex-Germinal, the past of Olympia is gradually being erased. In 2018, the Belgian federation authorized the club to recover the number 13 of the original Beerschot. And a year later, the club was renamed Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbalclub Antwerpen. Olympia Wilrijk no longer exists.
For the moment, the 3rd incarnation of Beerschot hasn't yet managed to reintegrate Division 1 but seems to have finally become wiser.
The future will tell us if Beerschot will be able to register in the future or if it is condemned to be a cursed name of Belgian football.

Finally, a short summary of the different names of the clubs that have played Kiel :

    Beerschot
  • 1899 : Beerschot Athletic Club (nr 13)
  • 1925 : Royal Beerschot Athletic Club (nr 13)
  • 1968 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Vereniging (nr 13)
  • 1991 : Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Club (nr 13)
  • 1995 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Club (nr 13)
  • 1999 : Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen (nr 3530), previously Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Ekeren
  • 2011 : Koninklijke Beerschot Antwerpen Club (nr 3530)
  • 2013 : Koninklijke Football Club Olympia Beerschot Wilrijk (nr 155), previously Koninklijke Football Club Olympia Wilrijk
  • 2019 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbalclub Antwerpen (nr 13)

Pictures

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The main stand and only construction of Kiel in its beginnings.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Kiel, shortly before the works planned for the 1920 Olympic Games. The main grandstand had already been enlarged.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

A portico, colonnades and a large entrance pavilion are built. The stadium can accommodate 35,000 people.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The monumental entrance pavilion.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Inside the stadium (1/2)

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Inside the stadium (2/2)

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Opening ceremony on August 20, 1920. For the first time, the Olympic flag was hoisted and the Olympic oath taken by Belgian fencer Victor Boin.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The tug of war event, in front of the clock's portico.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Frenchman Joseph Guillemot winning the 5,000m run in front of the Finnish Paavo Nurmi.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Red Devils, winners of the ancestor of the Football World Cup.
Uruguay has the right to wear two stars following its two victories at the Olympic Games (1924 and 1928) but not Belgium !

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

After the Games, the Olympic decors has been removed but the stadium will remain almost unchanged until the end of the 20th century.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Beerschot team posing in front of the old side stand.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

At the very beginning of the 90’s : the stands and the old terraces are still standing. A roof was simply added above the terraces.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The side stand. Collapsing under its great age, it will be destroyed around 1991. A new roof will shelter the first tier left intact.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Kiel, just before the demolition of the side stand. The main stand has already been modernized with the addition of skyboxes.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

1999 and the demolition of the old Olympic stadium. A page turns...

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

A modern stadium with almost no vestiges of its Olympic past.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

 

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Just over 12,000 seats and covered places.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

 

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The Kiel's Rats kop stand.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The only vestige of the old stadium, the main stand upper tier to the right of the image.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Three clubs have succeeded here but the supporters are still present.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

The new monolithic entrance pavilion. We are far from the artistic research of 1920...



Note

  • This article comes from my old site www.foothisto.be but was never published.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated recently (April 2020).

Related page

  • Page dedicated to the visit of the city of Antwerp.

Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

23
avril 2020

Si l’histoire de l’antre du Beerschot en lui-même est relativement limpide, retracer la vie du club résident au Kiel depuis 1899 est une autre histoire : le Beerschot a toujours été un club instable et à la réputation sulfureuse.
Résumé de l’histoire d’un stade à l’importance mondiale.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Un hippodrome et une trahison comme origines

Beerschot Alors que la ville d’Anvers vit déjà au rythme du football depuis 1880 grâce au Royal Antwerp FC, un nouveau club est fondé en 1899 au sud de la ville portuaire.
L’origine de ce nouveau club est une installation sportive créée sur un ancien hippodrome. D’ordinaire, un club est fondé puis il cherche un terrain pour y évoluer. Dans le cas du Beerschot, c’est le contraire puisque le club a été créé pour occuper des installations déjà existantes. Ainsi, le nouveau club est fondé par Ernest Grisar le 3 septembre 1899 et ses couleurs seront le mauve et le blanc. L’origine du nom du club provient du site où il a été fondé : le Beerschotshof est un parc situé à proximité immédiate du stade. Quant au nom du stade, il était aussi déjà trouvé : on parlera dans un premier temps du Kielstadion, du nom du quartier où il est implanté. Grisar décède rapidement mais son fils Alfred reprend les rênes du club.

Le club, répondant donc au nom de Beerschot Athletic Club, a une vocation omnisport et outre le football, possède des sections en hockey, tennis et en sports athlétiques.
En 1900, afin de garnir son équipe, Alfred Grisar n’hésita pas à contacter de nombreux joueurs de l’Antwerp. Ceux-ci déçus de la défaite du Great Old lors d’un test-match contre le Racing de Bruxelles pour l’attribution du titre n’hésitèrent pas et rallièrent le club du Kiel. L’Antwerp se retrouva sans joueurs et se mis en inactivité. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour créer une rivalité tenance qui perdure encore de nos jours. S’il y a bien une ville où les supporters des deux clubs principaux se haïssent au plus haut point, c’est bien à Anvers qu’on peut les trouver.

Beerschot L’affiliation du club à la fédération belge lui permet de participer au championnat. Le Beerschot terminé deuxième derrière le Racing de Bruxelles lors de sa première saison. Ce résultat prometteur n’allait pourtant pas avoir de suite et le Beerschot eut le triste honneur à devenir le tout premier club relégué en Belgique. Le nombre de clubs ne cessant d’augmenter, la fédération n’eut d’autre choix que de créer plusieurs divisions pour permettre aux nombreux nouveaux clubs de jouer. Ainsi au terme de la saison 1905-1906, le Beerschot chuta dans la nouvelle deuxième division tout juste créée.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le Kiel, épicentre mondial du sport

Jeux Olympiques de 1920 L’attribution des Jeux Olympiques de 1920 à Anvers tient de quelques circonstances exceptionnelles. En effet, la VIIe édition devait être attribuée à Berlin mais le déclenchement de la Première Guerre Mondiale en décida autrement. Une fois le conflit terminé, une nouvelle désignation est organisée en 1919 à Lausanne. Etaient en lice Amsterdam (Pays-Bas), Lyon (France), Atlanta, Cleveland, Philadelphie (Etats-Unis), Budapest (Hongrie) et La Havane (Cuba).
Budapest fut dans un premier temps désignée ville-hôte mais comme cette ville faisait partie de l’ancien empire austro-hongrois allié de l’Allemagne, elle fut retirée du vote, à l’instar des villes allemandes, autrichiennes, ottomanes et bulgares. Ces évictions étaient contre l’avis de Pierre de Coubertin mais les ravages de la Grande Guerre étaient encore trop vivaces. C’est ainsi qu’Anvers reçut les Olympiades afin de rendre hommage aux souffrances infligées au peuple belge durant le conflit.
Immédiatement, la cité portuaire a dû construire ou adapter de nombreuses installations sportives. Ainsi, un bassin de natation, un palais de glace, le Country Club d’Hoogboom et divers autres sites (notamment à Ostende et à Bruxelles) furent construits ou adaptés, en plus évidement du stade du Kiel. Le stade fut agrandi à 35.000 places et un décor d’inspiration grecque est installé autour des tribunes. De plus, un imposant pavillon est construit à l’entrée du stade et fera office d’entrée officielle. Le stade comporte deux tribunes latérales assises (de deux étages) et deux virages avec des places debout. La piste d’athlétisme a été mise au point par le britannique Charles Perry, le premier grand spécialiste mondial des pistes d'athlétisme. Quant au stade lui-même, il aurait été en partie conçu par l’architecte anglais Archibald Leitch, très célèbre à l’époque pour avoir construit les stades de Liverpool, des Rangers et du Celtic Glasgow, d’Arsenal, des deux stades de Manchester, de Chelsea et de Tottenham notamment.
Drapeau olympique Deux symboles des Jeux ont aussi fait leur première apparition à Anvers : le drapeau et le serment. Ils sont tous les deux encore bien présents aujourd’hui.

Parmi les faits d’arme, notons la performance du finlandais Paavo Nurmi. Ce dernier a non seulement remporté l’épreuve du 10.000m, du cross individuel et du cross par équipe, mais aussi la seconde place du 5.000m.
Autre vedette de l’époque, la tenniswoman française Suzanne Lenglen. Elle remporta trois médailles en gagnant les titres du simple dames et du double mixte.

Médaille d'Or des JO 1920

Médaille d'Or des Jeux Olympiques 1920

Quant au foot, les Diables Rouges seront couronnés champions olympiques dans des circonstances particulières. Les belges, exempts du premier tour élimineront en ¼ et ½ finales l’Espagne et les Pays-Bas. En finale, ils affrontèrent la Tchécoslovaquie dans stade du Kiel comble. Las, les tchécoslovaques abandonnèrent le match à la 39e minute prétextant un arbitrage défavorable. Ils furent disqualifiés et les belges sacrés champions olympiques. Mais les problèmes en football ne s’arrêtèrent pas pour autant. Le match pour désignées les médaillées d’argent et de bronze ne put avoir lieu puisque les français étaient déjà rentrés chez eux. Un second tournoi fût organisé entre l’Italie, la Norvège, l’Espagne et la Suède d’un côté, et de l’autre un match amical entre l’Egypte et la Yougoslavie. L’Espagne se hisse ne finale contre les Pays-Bas (précédemment éliminés par les belges) et remportent la médaille d’argent devant les néerlandais.
Le titre des belges reste à ce jour le plus grand exploit des Diables mais il est souvent occulté. Les circonstances de la victoire et l’invention de la Coupe du Monde dix ans plus tard n’aideront pas à garder en mémoire cette médaille d’or.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

L’âge d’or du Beerschot, puis l’enfer

Les Jeux terminés, les décors olympiques sont malheureusement démolis et le Beerschot peut reprendre pleinement possession de son stade. La figuration que faisait avant-guerre les Mauves et Blancs devient une domination du foot belge. Entre 1922 et 1939, pas moins de 7 titres seront décernés aux beerschotmen (1922, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1928, 1938 et 1939). La Seconde Guerre Mondiale mettra un terme à cette domination et le vieux club devra attendre les années 70 pour de retour gagner des trophées : la Coupe de Belgique sera remportée en 1971 (face à Saint-Trond) et en 1979 face du Club Brugeois.
Beerschot Le Beerschot rentra par la suite dans le rang mais réussi tout de même à rester en D1 pendant 73 ans. La mort du président Pierre Stoop en 1976 devint synonyme de descente aux enfers pour le club du Kiel. Une première fois relégué pour tentative de corruption en 1981 contre le Beringen FC, le club remonte de suite mais la chute continua de plus belle.
Les années 80 et 90 seront pour le club deux décennies noires. Entre redressements fiscaux (dû notamment à des faux en écriture ou aux fraudes fiscales) et relégation administrative en Division 3 (suite à une situation financière catastrophique). La saison 1990-1991 sera la toute dernière en Division 1. Remontant de suite en Division 2 à la fin de la saison 1991-1992, le vieux club réussira à s’y stabiliser quelques années mais échouera à remonter en D1. Finalement, en 1999, le Beerschot termine dernier et est relégué en... Promotion. Exsangue, le club déclare forfait ne jouera jamais en quatrième division. Le prestigieux matricule 13 est radié et toute son histoire est balayée.
Pendant des décennies, le club n’a plus été en mesure d’entretenir son vieux stade. Les seuls travaux d’envergure ont été la création de loges à la place du premier étage de la tribune principale. Mais le reste des installations tombe en ruine et le second étage de la tribune latérale doit être démoli au début des années 90. La capacité tombe à 14.000 places.

Le 12 juin 1999, le Beerschot n’est plus et ses nombreux partisans se retrouvent sans rien.
Le club aura existé pendant 99 ans et 9 mois.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Déménagement & modernisation

Germinal Ekeren Pourtant, le Kiel ne peut rester inoccupé. Ce stade a un tel passé qu’une solution est vite trouvée pour redonner vie au site.
Le Germinal Ekeren, petit club passé des séries provinciales à la D1 en quelques années, est confronté à un stade trop petit et impossible à agrandir. En effet, le Veltwijckparkstadion est coincé dans un site classé et devra à terme être démoli. Pourtant, le club connait un réel succès sportif mais ne peut compter que sur quelques supporters.
Le club déménage au Kiel, adapte ses couleurs (à l’origine rouge et jaune, le mauve du Beerschot est ajouté) et change son nom en Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen, le nouveau logo reprenant les éléments principaux des deux anciens clubs.

Germinal Beerschot Le nouveau Beerschot ne peut par contre plus se satisfaire d’un stade en ruine. Rapidement, trois tribunes sont démolies et remplacées par de nouvelles constructions abritant exclusivement des places assises. De plus, la célèbre piste d’athlétisme disparait et le Kiel devient un stade à l’anglaise. Du stade des Jeux, il ne reste que le deuxième étage de la tribune principale. La capacité est fixée à 12.771 places assises.
Le club poursuit sa progression et remporte la Coupe de Belgique en 2005, face de nouveau au Club Brugeois. On pense à l’époque que le nouveau Beerschot est sur les bons rails mais les vieux démons reviennent hanter les travées du Kiel.
Tiraillé entre les anciens partisans du vieux Beerschot et les dirigeants issus de l’ancien Germinal, le club redevient instable et les résultats sportifs en pâtissent. Le matricule 3530 flirte avec la Division 2 pendant plusieurs saisons.
Beerschot Peu à peu, les dirigeants du Germinal sont éjectés et le club change de nom : on parle maintenant du Koninklijke Beerschot Antwerpen Club (matricule 3530) et les couleurs rouge et jaune disparaissent.
Malheureusement, à la fin de la saison 2012-2013, le club ne reçoit pas sa licence professionnelle et est relégué en Division 3. Comme en 1999, le club jeta l’éponge et le matricule est radié.
C’est la fin de la seconde version du Beerschot.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Une troisième vie ?

L’histoire repasse les plats...
Le même scénario qu’en 1999 est mis en place. Le stade Kiel (cette fois en parfait état) doit impérativement retrouver un club et cette fois, c’est le Koninklijke FC Olympia Wilrijk (matricule 155) qui est invité à s’installé au Stade Olympique. Une nouvelle fois, le nouvel occupant s’adapte au passé prestigieux du stade en changeant son nom et son blason en 2013.
Et comme pour l’ex-Germinal, le passé de l’Olympia est effacé progressivement. En 2018, l’URBSFA autorise le club a récupéré le matricule 13 du Beerschot original. Et un an plus tard, le club est rebaptisé Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbalclub Antwerpen. L’Olympia Wilrijk n’existe plus.
Pour le moment, la 3e incarnation du Beerschot n’a pas encore réussi à réintégrer la Division 1 mais semble être enfin devenue plus sage.
L’avenir nous dira si le Beerschot saura s’inscrire dans le futur ou s’il est condamné à être un nom maudit du foot belge.

Pour finir, petit résumé des différents appellations des clubs ayant joué au Kiel :

    Beerschot
  • 1899 : Beerschot Athletic Club (matricule 13)
  • 1925 : Royal Beerschot Athletic Club (matricule 13)
  • 1968 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Vereniging (matricule 13)
  • 1991 : Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Club (matricule 13)
  • 1995 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbal en Atletiek Club (matricule 13)
  • 1999 : Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen (matricule 3530), auparavant Koninklijke Football Club Germinal Ekeren
  • 2011 : Koninklijke Beerschot Antwerpen Club (matricule 3530)
  • 2013 : Koninklijke Football Club Olympia Beerschot Wilrijk (matricule 155), auparavant Koninklijke Football Club Olympia Wilrijk
  • 2019 : Koninklijke Beerschot Voetbalclub Antwerpen (matricule 13)

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

La tribune principale et seule construction du Kiel à ses débuts.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le Kiel, peu avant les travaux prévus pour les Jeux Olympiques de 1920. La tribune principale avait déjà subi un agrandissement.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Un portique, des colonnades et un grand pavillon d’entrée sont construits. Le stade peut accueillir 35.000 personnes.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le monumental pavillon d’entrée.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

L’intérieur du stade (1/2)

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

L’intérieur du stade (2/2)

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Cérémonie d’ouverture le 20 août 1920. Pour la première fois, le drapeau olympique est hissé et le serment olympique prononcé par l’escrimeur belge Victor Boin.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

L’épreuve de tir à la corde, devant le portique de l’horloge.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le français Joseph Guillemot remportant le 5.000m devant le finlandais Paavo Nurmi.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Les Diables Rouges, vainqueurs de l’ancêtre de la Coupe du Monde de Football.
L’Uruguay a le droit de porter deux étoiles suite à ses deux victoires aux Jeux Olympiques (1924 et 1928) mais pas la Belgique !

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Après les Jeux, le stade sera amputé de ses décors mais restera presque inchangé jusqu’à la fin du XXe siècle.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

L'équipe du Beerschot posant devant la vieille tribune latérale.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Au tout début des années 90 : les gradins et les vieilles tribunes sont toujours debout. Une toiture a simplement été ajoutées au-dessus des virages.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

La tribune latérale. Croulant sous son grand âge, elle sera détruite vers 1991. Une nouvelle toiture abritera le premier étage laissé intact.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le Kiel, juste avant la démolition de la tribune latérale. La tribune principale a déjà été modernisée avec l’ajout des loges.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

1999 et la démolition du vieux stade olympique. Une page se tourne...

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Un stade moderne n’ayant presque plus de vestiges de son passé olympique.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

 

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Un peu plus de 12.000 places assises et couvertes.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

 

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

La tribune du kop des Rats du Kiel.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Seul vestige de l’ancien stade, l’étage de la tribune principale à droite de l’image.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Trois clubs se sont succédés ici mais les supporter sont toujours présents.

Olympisch Stadion (Kiel)

Le nouveau pavillon d’entrée monolithique. On est loin de la recherche artistique de 1920...



Note

  • Cet article provient de mon ancien site www.foothisto.be mais n’a jamais été publié.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement (avril 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500