Neuville & Mambourg

24
April 2020

Like other major Belgian cities, Charleroi has two high-level football clubs. And like everywhere else, there is great rivalry between these two circles, the Sporting and the Olympic.
This rivalry is found in their respective stadiums : the Mambourg and the Neuville.

Neuville & Mambourg

The beginnings of football in the Black Country

As is often the case, before the appearance of the clubs we still know today, there were probably older football clubs than the Sporting and the Olympic. Few of them managed to survive and for those who only lasted a few years, it is very difficult today to establish a history.
It is therefore more than likely that clubs were founded in Charleroi in the 19th century, but the written traces have disappeared. The same obviously goes for the old grounds or stadiums that may have existed in the capital of the Black Country.


The precursor : the Sporting

Charleroi Sporting Club The oldest club that has come down to us is the Royal Charleroi Sporting Club. Worn on the baptismal font by Bridou, Bermus and Deguelde on January 1, 1904, he wasn’t admitted to the Belgian federation until 1907.
During its first years, the club will grow in the regional series and will even go to sleep in 1913 for lack of financial means.
After the war, Sporting resumed its activities and became a cooperative. The club will still have to wait until 1926 before finally reaching the national series but moved to Rue Spinois in a new 10,000-places stadium. The new stadium was inaugurated on Christmas Day 1923. In 1926, the Sporting received the number 22.
The club stayed there until 1939 when it moved a few hundred meters to the new municipal stadium, the Mambourg. Although the site has been dedicated to football since 1923, the stands will not be built until 1939. This new stadium, larger and more modern, should allow the Sporting to continue its progress. With approximately 22,000 places, it has a large seated stand (with a pillarless roof in the middle of the stands, which was revolutionary at the time), a large standing covered stand on the other side of the field and terraces behind each goal. This new stadium takes its name from the coal mining that took place there a few years ago, the Charbonnage du Mambourg.
The Sporting will still have to wait until 1947 to finally reach Division 1 but the club will fall back into Division 2 at the end of the 1956-1957 season. Thereafter, the club will alternate between D1 and D2 and will have to wait until 1985 to stay in the highest division, except in 2011-2012. Its only feats of arms are a vice-champion place in 1969 and two lost Belgian Cup finals in 1978 and 1993. The Zebras have sometimes participate in the European Cup (Fair Cities, UEFA and Intertoto) but with disappointing results : 9 wins, 3 draws and 8 losses.

Mambourg Stadium

The first successes for the Olympic

Olympic Charleroi If the Sporting can take pride in being the dean of the Carolo clubs, the Olympic can claim to be the first club to really see success in Charleroi. The club is created on September 20, 1911 under the name of Olympic Club Caroloregian Lodelinsart and during 11 years, the club will have to wait before settling down definitively in its new stadium of the Neuville in 1922. In 1926, the club receives the number 246.
Very quickly climbing the levels of Belgian football, the club arrived in Division 1 in 1937 and didn't experience its first relegation until 1955. Also in 1937, the Neuville expanded and became a modern stadium with 30,000 places. As is often the case, the stadium consists of a large seated stand, a standing covered stand on the other side of the field and uncovered terraces surrounding the lawn behind the goals. Finally, and again in 1937, the club changed its name when it was awarded its title of "Royal Society" to Royal Olympic Club Charleroi.
The Olympic hit the headlines by capturing the highest steps of the D1 from its earliest years, finishing regularly between third and sixth place. The title of vice-champion of Belgium was even awarded to the club in 1947. Alas, the Olympic will never take first place and will gradually fall into anonymity and instability. Only two seasons will still be played in Division 1 : 1967-1968 and 1974-1975. Since then, the club has vegetated most often between the third and fourth divisions.

Neuville Stadium

One modernized stadium, the other neglected

Between the end of the Second World War and the 1970's, the Mambourg and the Neuville stadiums didn't change. Barely, these grounds will benefit from artificial lighting but that's it. This is easily explained : the Sporting stadium is relatively new and is still perfectly suitable while the re-entry into the rank of the number 246 prevents any renovation and even all maintenance of the old Neuville.

Olympic Charleroi It wasn't until the mid-1970's that the main the Neuville stand was renovated, and even 1992 when the business-seats were installed in the same stand. If this new arrangement is beneficial for the finances of the club, the stand loses the vast majority of its seats and is somewhat disfigured.
The other stands have remained unchanged since 1937. Gradually, and for security reasons, the capacity decreases from 30,000 to 18,000 places.

Charleroi Sporting Club The Sporting has a well-kept stadium. The club yields to the fashion of business-seats around 1985 and profoundly transforms its seating stand : the building is extended over the entire length of the field, two tiers are added (one with business-seats and the other with outside seats) and a new roof covers everything. The original stand is still present in the center of the new building.
The qualification of the Sporting for the UEFA Cup in 1994 forced the municipal authorities to quickly develop the Mambourg. Indeed, if the Sporting wants to play its European matches in its stadium, the number of seats must be increased and the number of standing places reduced. Thus, the stands behind each goal are transformed into seated and covered stands. The capacity is 18,000 places.

Mambourg Stadium

Euro 2000 and the scandals

Euro 2000 In the mid-1990's, Euro 2000 was jointly awarded to the Netherlands and Belgium. The biggest cities of the two countries are applying to host some matches of this major competition. Charleroi doesn't want to miss the boat and logically puts everything on an in-depth renovation of the Mambourg.
The project is simple : the main stand remains unchanged while on the other three sides will be erected new seated stands with a rather special roof. The stadium being wedged in a very dense urbanization, the possibilities of extensions are limited. To reach a minimum capacity of 30,000, the architect Paul Petit designed high stands with a roof supported by huge steel beams placed on pylons at the four corners of the field. Thus, the ex-standing stand will have three tiers and will have a really impressive height. In order not to give too much shade to neighboring buildings, the third tier will be dismantled after the tournament and will be installed at the new Gilly velodrome, in the suburbs. The stadium will then have 24,891 seating and covered places. Finally, the Olympic will have to move there, forced.
The stadium then changed its name and became the Stade du Pays de Charleroi.
After the tournament, in 2003, the Mambourg welcomed the La Louvière club so that it could play its European Cup match against Benfica (Portugal) following its victory in the Belgian Cup, the Stade du Tivoli in La Louvière not being able to host a European match.

Charleroi Sporting Club Unfortunately, we are in Charleroi and things never happen legally.
The building permit for the renovation will be suspended and then canceled by the Council of State. Numerous irregularities will be discovered there and the fraudulent management of the city’s sporting heritage will be included in what is known as the “Charleroi affairsNote”.
The Socialist politicians implicated in this scandal, three will have a major part in the renovation of the stadium for Euro 2000 : the mayors Jean-Claude Van Cauwenberghe and Jacques Van Gompel, as well as the sports alderman Claude Despiegeleer. All will be condemned by justice. This same justice summons the city of Charleroi to raze the disputed stands (therefore the most recent) under penalty of heavy penalties.

Stade du Pays de Charleroi

One ridiculous stadium, the other condemned

Charleroi Sporting Club Thus, the city of Charleroi must imperatively reduce the size of the Mambourg to avoid total and immediate demolition.
The second tiers of the new stands are therefore demolished, as is the very special roof. The stands are without coverage but the work completed in time allows the Sporting to start the 2012-2013 season in an amputated but "legal" stadium. The number of places drops to 14,891.
Very quickly, the need to rebuild a roof on all of the stands appeared to everyone. But tight deadlines and budgets will prevent us from designing a coherent and beautiful whole.
Rather than using the same system as during the renovation for Euro 2000 (a roof suspended from the four pylons), it is a technique dating from the beginning of the 20th century that is chosen. Many poles will be planted in front of the stands to support the roof. The Mambourg then acquired the appearance of a pre-war stadium.
Sporting, having regained European ambitions, asked the city at the same time to bring the stadium into line with UEFA requirements. Gradually, all the red (or blue) seats are replaced by black and white seats. This failed renovation will at least have the merit of giving the Sporting grounds a face more in line with its identity.

Meanwhile, on the Neuville side, business is getting worse for the Olympic.
However, the club had managed to climb back into the second division but the catastrophic management of the club's finances led it to the brink of bankruptcy several times. The situation is so critical in 2012 that it is believed that the 2011-2012 season will be the very last in number 246. However, radiation is narrowly avoided thanks to the will of the Dogues' supporters.
A merger between the ROCC and the Royale Association Marchiennoise des Sports (registration number 278) should have offered the Olympics new ambitions but the transplant didn't take.
Olympic Charleroi In 2019, a new unnecessary fusion is made this time with the Royal Châtelet-Farciennes Sporting Club (registration number 725). During this merger, the transfer of heritage is deemed non-compliant by the federation and sends the Olympic Charleroi Châtelet Farciennes (the new name of the club) in the provincial series. A new catastrophe for the old centenary club...
The club still manages to extricate itself from the provincial but the future does not look bright, however.
As for the stadium, the first closure occurred in 2008 when the dangerous state of a terrace was discovered. It is quickly demolished and is replaced by a simple grassed embankment.
The following year, the obsolete lighting is completely renovated. But this new installation is mounted on the original pylons, which are very old. In 2010, a new closure was ordered following the threat of collapse of these pylons. The old high-masts are dismantled and replaced with new ones.
Shortly after, the roof of the business-seats collapsed. New closure and new emergency work.
The Olympic has always refused to move to its rival’s lair after Euro 2000. But it has to be said that the club cannot afford to maintain its stadium. Since then, the stadium has been opened again, but its future is more than uncertain.

Neuville Stadium

Two projects but...

A new stadium should have been created in Marchienne if Belgium (as well as the Netherlands) had obtained the organization of the 2018 World Cup. This new installation would have included 44,000 seats (reduced to 25,000 after the tournament) and would have been at the heart of a site dedicated to sport. Its name would have been "La Porte des Sports". The Sporting and the Olympic would have been invited to move there.
But from the start, the Sporting management displayed a categorical refusal. In addition, the organization of the 2018 World Cup was "offered" to Russia. The project is therefore stillborn.

More recently, a new stadium project for the Sporting has been launched. Erected on the site of the previous project, the new lair of the RCSC would this time include 22,000 places and would be inaugurated in 2024.
If this business comes to an end, the fate of Mambourg will be sealed and the old stadium will have hosted the Sporting for 85 years. As for the Olympic, it does not seem that this club is associated with the project.
If the future looks bright for the Sporting, the Olympic has reason to worry about its future...

Neuville Stadium

The Neuville stadium, in its infancy. 30,000 places for a very popular club from the start.

Neuville Stadium

The seated stand, invaded by business-seats.

Neuville Stadium

 

Neuville Stadium

The side stand, stronghold of the carolo kop.

Neuville Stadium

The surviving end stand. The other has since been demolished.

Neuville Stadium

In the background, the destroyed terrace.

Neuville Stadium

Certainly dated facilities but which have a certain charm.

Neuville Stadium

 

Neuville Stadium

 

Neuville Stadium

 

Neuville Stadium

A pylon just equipped with its new floodlights. A year later, these pylons had to be dismantled urgently.

Neuville Stadium

The old stadium has a more than uncertain future.

Neuville Stadium

A few hundred yards away, the enemy’s stadium.

Mambourg Stadium

The Mambourg stadium, in a district not yet saturated with buildings.

Mambourg Stadium

The beautiful Art Deco facade, lost during the modernization of the stand in the 80's.

Mambourg Stadium

The original roof, the principle of which will be taken up for reconstruction in 1999.

Mambourg Stadium

The side stand, where the hottest supporters of Sporting were.

Mambourg Stadium

The two end stands, rebuilt for the European Cup in 1994.

Mambourg Stadium

The Mambourg, on the eve of major works. Capacity : 18,000 places.

Mambourg Stadium

The new facade of the stadium. Goodbye to aesthetics...

Mambourg Stadium

The Mambourg, ready for Euro 2020.

Mambourg Stadium

The huge stand 3. The third tier will be dismantled after the tournament and reassembled at the Gilly velodrome.

Mambourg Stadium

The stadium after the tournament. Capacity : 24,891 seats.

Mambourg Stadium

Why red seats ? To recall the stranglehold of the Socialist Party on Charleroi for ages ?

Mambourg Stadium

Stand 3. Even without its third tier, it remains a unique construction.

Mambourg Stadium

The main stand. The original building is still there, under the blue seats.

Mambourg Stadium

Astuteness for building the stadium.

Mambourg Stadium

End stand 2, reserved for visitors.

Mambourg Stadium

The post-Euro 2000 Mambourg was a modern and pleasant stadium. Too bad it was built without respecting the law.

Mambourg Stadium

The amputated stadium of its roofs and second tiers.

Mambourg Stadium

The new ridiculous roofs.

Mambourg Stadium

At least the seats are black and white now.

Mambourg Stadium

The main stand was also given new seats reminiscent of the club's symbol, the zebra.

Mambourg Stadium

A tinkered stadium for a team in need of trophies...

World Cup 2018 project

The project for the World Cup. It is said that it is beautiful...

World Cup 2018 project

44,000 places, then 25,000. The same scenario as for the Mambourg and Euro 2000. Project canceled.

New Sporting stadium project

The latest project. Expected opening in 2024.


Notes

  • The judicial affairs of Charleroi, on Wikipedia (in French).
  • This article comes from my old site www.foothisto.be but was never published.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated recently (April 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500

Neuville & Mambourg

24
avril 2020

A l’instar des autres grandes villes belges, Charleroi possède deux clubs de haut niveau. Et comme partout ailleurs, la rivalité est grande entre ces deux cercles, le Sporting et l’Olympic.
Cette rivalité se retrouve dans leurs stades respectifs : le Mambourg et la Neuville.

Neuville & Mambourg

Les débuts du foot au Pays Noir

Comme souvent, avant l’apparition des clubs que nous connaissons encore aujourd’hui, il y a probablement eu de plus anciens clubs de foot que le Sporting et l’Olympic. Peu d’entre eux ont réussi à survivre et pour ceux qui n’ont duré que quelques années, il est aujourd’hui bien difficile d’en établir un historique.
Il est ainsi plus que probable que des clubs ont été fondés à Charleroi au XIXe siècle mais les traces écrites ont disparu. Il en va évidemment de même pour les anciens terrains ou stades qui ont pu exister dans la capitale du Pays Noir.


Le précurseur : le Sporting

Charleroi Sporting Club Le plus ancien club qui nous est parvenu est le Royal Charleroi Sporting Club. Porté sur les fonts baptismaux par Bridou, Bermus et Deguelde le 1er janvier 1904, il ne sera admis à l’Union Belge qu’en 1907.
Durant ses premières années, le club végétera dans les séries régionales et se mettra même en sommeil en 1913 faute de moyens financiers.
Après la guerre, le Sporting reprend ses activités et devient une coopérative. Le club devra tout de même patienter jusqu’en 1926 avant d’enfin accéder aux séries nationales mais s’installe à la Rue Spinois dans une nouvelle enceinte de 10.000 places. Le nouveau stade est inauguré le jour de Noël 1923. En 1926, le Sporting reçoit le matricule 22.
Le club y reste jusqu’en 1939 quand il déménage à quelques centaines de mètres dans le nouveau stade communal du Mambourg. Bien que le site soit dédié au football depuis 1923, les tribunes ne seront aménagées qu’en 1939. Ce nouveau stade, plus grand et plus moderne, devrait permettre au Sporting de continuer sa progression. Comptant environ 22.000 places, il est doté d’une grande tribune assise (avec une toiture sans pilier au milieu des gradins, ce qui était révolutionnaire à l’époque), une grande tribune debout couverte de l’autre côté du terrain et des gradins derrière chaque but. Ce nouveau stade tient son nom du charbonnage qui s’y tenait quelques années auparavant, le Charbonnage du Mambourg.
Le Sporting devra tout de même attendre 1947 pour enfin accéder à la Division 1 mais le club retombera en Division 2 au terme de la saison 1956-1957. Par la suite, le club alternera entre la D1 et la D2 et devra attendre 1985 pour rester dans la plus haute division, sauf en 2011-2012. Ses seuls faits d’arme sont une place de vice-champion en 1969 et deux finales perdues de Coupe de Belgique en 1978 et 1993. Les Zèbres participeront quelques fois à la Coupe d’Europe (Villes de Foires, UEFA et Intertoto) mais avec des résultats décevants : 9 victoires, 3 nuls et 8 défaites.

Stade du Mambourg

Les premiers succès pour l’Olympic

Olympic Charleroi Si le Sporting peut s’enorgueillir d’être le doyen des clubs carolo, l’Olympic peut se targuer d’être le premier club à voir réellement du succès à Charleroi. Le club est créé le 20 septembre 1911 sous le nom de Olympic Club Caroloregian Lodelinsart et pendant 11 ans, le club devra attendre avant de s’installer définitivement dans son nouveau stade de La Neuville en 1922. En 1926, le club reçoit le matricule 246.
Gravissant très vite les échelons du foot belge, le club arrive en Division 1 en 1937 et ne connaitra sa première relégation qu’en 1955. Toujours en 1937, La Neuville s’agrandit et devient un stade moderne de 30.000 places. Comme souvent, le stade se compose d’une grande tribune assise, d’une tribune debout couverte de l’autre côté du terrain et de gradins ceinturant la pelouse derrière les buts. Enfin, et encore en 1937, le club adapte son nom lors de l’attribution de son titre de « Société Royale » en Royal Olympic Club Charleroi.
L’Olympic défraie la chronique en trustant les plus hautes marches de la D1 dès ses premières années en terminant régulièrement entre la troisième et sixième place. Le titre de vice-champion de Belgique lui est même décerné en 1947. Hélas, le club ne décrochera jamais la première place et retombera progressivement dans l’anonymat et l’instabilité. Seules deux saisons seront encore disputées en Division 1 : 1967-1968 et 1974-1975. Depuis, le club végète le plus souvent entre les troisième et quatrième divisions.

Stade de la Neuville

Un stade modernisé, l’autre négligé

Entre la fin de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale et les années 70, les stades du Mambourg et de la Neuville n’évolueront pas. Tout juste, ces enceintes bénéficieront de l’éclairage artificiel mais c’est tout. Cela s’explique facilement : le stade du Sporting est relativement récent et convient encore parfaitement tandis que la rentrée dans le rang du matricule 246 empêche toute rénovation et même tout entretient du vieux stade de La Neuville.

Olympic Charleroi Il faudra attendre le milieu des années 70 pour voir la rénovation de la tribune principale de La Neuville et même 1992 pour l’installation des business-seats dans cette même tribune. Si ce nouvel aménagement est bénéfique pour les finances du club, la tribune perd la grande majorité de ses places assises et est passablement défigurée.
Les autres tribunes reste inchangées depuis 1937. Peu à peu, et pour des raisons de sécurité, la capacité passe de 30.000 à 18.000 places.

Charleroi Sporting Club Le Sporting, lui, bénéficie d’un stade bien entretenu. Le club cède à la mode des business-seats vers 1985 et transforme profondément sa tribune assise : le bâtiment est étendu sur toute la longueur du terrain, deux étages sont ajoutés (l’un avec les business-seats et l’autre avec des places assises extérieures) et une nouvelle toiture couvre le tout. La tribune originelle est toujours présente au centre du nouveau bâtiment.
La qualification du Sporting pour la Coupe UEFA en 1994 oblige les autorités communales à rapidement aménager le Mambourg. En effet, si le Sporting veut jouer ses rencontres européennes dans son stade, le nombre de siège doit être augmentés et le nombre de places debout diminué. Ainsi, les gradins situés derrière chaque but sont transformés en tribunes assises et couvertes. La capacité d’accueil est alors de 18.000 places.

Stade du Mambourg

L’Euro 2000 et les scandales

Euro 2000 Au milieu des années 90, l’Euro 2000 est attribué conjointement aux Pays-Bas et à la Belgique. Les plus grandes villes des deux pays se portent candidates pour accueillir quelques matches de cette compétition majeure. Charleroi ne veut pas rater le coche et mise logiquement tout sur une rénovation en profondeur du Mambourg.
Le projet est simple : la tribune principale reste inchangée tandis que sur les trois autres côtés seront érigés de nouvelles tribunes assises avec une toiture assez particulière. Le stade étant coincé dans un tissu urbain très dense, les possibilités d’extensions sont limitées. Pour atteindre une capacité minimale de 30.000, l’architecte Paul Petit conçoit des tribunes tout en hauteur et couvertes d’une toiture soutenue par des énormes poutrelles d’acier posées sur des pylônes aux quatre coins du terrain. Ainsi, l’ex-tribune debout possédera trois étages et aura une hauteur vraiment impressionnante. Afin de ne pas porter trop d’ombre aux habitations voisines, le troisième étage sera démonté après le tournoi et sera installé au nouveau vélodrome de Gilly, en banlieue. Le stade disposera alors de 24.891 places assises et couvertes. Enfin, l’Olympic devra y déménager, contraint et forcé.
Le stade change alors de nom et devient le Stade du Pays de Charleroi.
Après le tournoi, en 2003, le Mambourg accueille le club de La Louvière pour qu’il puisse disputer son match de Coupe d’Europe contre Benfica (Portugal) suite à sa victoire en Coupe de Belgique, le Stade du Tivoli à La Louvière n’étant pas apte à accueillir un match européen.

Charleroi Sporting Club Malheureusement, nous sommes à Charleroi et les choses ne s’y passent jamais légalement.
Le permis de bâtir pour la rénovation sera suspendu puis annulé par le Conseil d’Etat. De nombreuses irrégularités y seront découvertes et la gestion frauduleuse du patrimoine sportif de la Ville sera englobée dans ce que l’on appelle les « Affaires judicaires de CharleroiNote ».
Des responsables politiques socialistes éclaboussés par ce scandale, trois auront une part prépondérante dans la rénovation du stade en vue de l’Euro 2000 : les bourgmestres Jean-Claude Van Cauwenberghe et Jacques Van Gompel, ainsi que l’échevin des sports Claude Despiegeleer. Tous seront condamnés par la justice. Cette même justice somme la ville de Charleroi de raser les tribunes litigieuses (donc les plus récentes) sous peine de lourdes astreintes.

Stade du Pays de Charleroi

Un stade ridicule, l’autre condamné

Charleroi Sporting Club Ainsi donc, la ville de Charleroi doit impérativement réduire la taille du Mambourg pour éviter une démolition totale et immédiate.
Les seconds niveaux des nouvelles tribunes sont donc démolis tout comme la toiture si particulière. Les tribunes se retrouvent sans couverture mais les travaux terminés à temps permettent au Sporting de débuter la saison 2012-2013 dans un stade amputé mais « légal ». Le nombre de places chute à 14.891.
Très vite, la nécessité de reconstruire une toiture sur l’ensemble des tribunes apparait aux yeux de tous. Mais des délais et budgets serrés empêcheront de concevoir un ensemble cohérent et beau.
Plutôt que de reprendre le même système que lors de la rénovation pour l’Euro 2000 (une toiture suspendue aux quatre pylônes), c’est une technique datant du début du XXe siècle qui est retenue. De nombreux poteaux seront plantés devant les gradins afin de soutenir le toit. Le Mambourg acquière alors la physionomie d’un stade d’avant-guerre.
Le Sporting ayant retrouvé des ambitions européennes demande au même moment à la ville de mettre le stade en conformité des exigences de l’UEFA. Progressivement, tous les sièges rouges (ou bleus) sont remplacés par des sièges noir et blanc. Cette rénovation ratée aura au moins le mérite de donner à l’enceinte du Sporting un visage plus en adéquation avec son identité.

Pendant ce temps-là, du côté de la Neuville, les affaires se dégradent de plus en plus pour l’Olympic.
Pourtant, le club avait réussi à remonter en deuxième division mais la gestion catastrophique des finances du club conduit celui-ci au bord de la faillite plusieurs fois. La situation est tellement critique en 2012 que l’on pense que la saison 2011-2012 sera la toute dernière du matricule 246. La radiation est cependant évitée de justesse grâce à la volonté des supportes des Dogues.
Une fusion entre le ROCC et la Royale Association Marchiennoise des Sports (matricule 278) aurait dû offrir à l’Olympic de nouvelles ambitions mais la sauce ne prit pas.
Olympic Charleroi En 2019, une nouvelle fusion inutile est faite cette fois avec le Royal Châtelet-Farciennes Sporting Club (matricule 725). Lors de cette fusion, la cession de patrimoine est jugée non-conforme par la fédération et envoie l’Olympic Charleroi Châtelet Farciennes (le nouveau nom du club) dans les séries provinciales. Une nouvelle catastrophe pour le vieux club centenaire...
Le club parvient tout de même à s’extirper de la provinciale mais le futur ne s’annonce pas radieux pour autant.
Quant au stade, une première fermeture intervient en 2008 lorsque l’on découvre l’état dangereux d’une tribune. Celle-ci est rapidement démolie et est remplacée par un simple talus engazonné.
L’année suivante, l’éclairage obsolète est totalement rénové. Mais cette nouvelle installation est montée sur les pylônes d’origine, qui accuse un grand âge. En 2010, une nouvelle fermeture est ordonnée suite à la menace d’effondrement de ces pylônes. Les vieux mâts sont démontés et remplacés par de nouveaux.
Peu de temps après, c’est le toit des business-seats qui s’effondre. Nouvelle fermeture et nouveaux travaux d’urgence.
L’Olympic a toujours refusé de déménager dans l’antre de son rival après l’Euro 2000. Mais force est de constaté que le club n’a pas les moyens d’entretenir son stade. Depuis, le stade est de nouveau ouvert mais son avenir est plus qu’incertain.

Stade de la Neuville

Deux projets mais...

Un nouveau stade aurait dû voir le jour du côté de Marchienne si la Belgique (ainsi que les Pays-Bas) avait obtenu l’organisation de la Coupe du Monde 2018. Cette nouvelle installation aurait compris 44.000 places (réduites à 25.000 après le tournoi) et aurait été au cœur d’un site dédié au sport. Son nom aurait été « La Porte des Sports ». Le Sporting et l’Olympic auraient été invités à y déménager.
Mais dès le début, la direction du Sporting afficha un refus catégorique. De plus, l’organisation de la Coupe du Monde 2018 a été « offerte » à la Russie. Le projet est donc mort-né.

Plus récemment, un nouveau projet de stade pour le Sporting a vu le jour. Erigé à l’emplacement du projet précédent, le nouvel antre du RCSC comprendrait cette fois 22.000 places et serait inauguré en 2024.
Si cette entreprise arrive à son terme, le sort du Mambourg sera scellé et le vieux stade aura accueilli le Sporting pendant 85 ans. Quant à l’Olympic, il ne semble pas que ce club soit associé au projet.
Si l’avenir apparait serein pour le Sporting, l’Olympic a des raisons de s’inquiéter pour son avenir...

Stade de la Neuville

Le stade de La Neuville, à ses débuts. 30.000 places pour un club très populaire dès le début.

Stade de la Neuville

La tribune assise, envahie par les business-seats.

Stade de la Neuville

 

Stade de la Neuville

La tribune latérale, fief du kop carolo.

Stade de la Neuville

La tribune de but survivante. L’autre a depuis été démolie.

Stade de la Neuville

Au fond, la tribune détruite.

Stade de la Neuville

Des installations certes vieillottes mais qui ont un certain charme.

Stade de la Neuville

 

Stade de la Neuville

 

Stade de la Neuville

 

Stade de la Neuville

Un pylône tout juste équipé de ses nouveaux projecteurs. Un an plus tard, ces pylônes ont dû être démontés en urgence.

Stade de la Neuville

Le vieux stade a un avenir plus qu’incertain.

Stade de la Neuville

A quelques centaines de mètres, le stade de l’ennemi.

Stade du Mambourg

Le Mambourg, dans un quartier pas encore saturé d’immeubles.

Stade du Mambourg

La belle façade Art Déco, perdue lors de la modernisation de la tribune dans les années 80.

Stade du Mambourg

La toiture d’origine, dont le principe sera repris pour la reconstruction en 1999.

Stade du Mambourg

La tribune debout, où se trouvaient les supporters les plus chauds du Sporting.

Stade du Mambourg

Les deux tribunes de buts, reconstruites pour la Coupe d’Europe en 1994.

Stade du Mambourg

Le Mambourg, à la veille des grands travaux. Capacité : 18.000 places.

Stade du Mambourg

La nouvelle façade du stade. Adieu à l’esthétisme...

Stade du Mambourg

Le Mambourg, fin prêt pour l’Euro 2020.

Stade du Mambourg

L’immense tribune 3. Le troisième niveau sera démonté après le tournoi et remonté au vélodrome de Gilly.

Stade du Mambourg

Le stade après le tournoi. Capacité : 24.891 places.

Stade du Mambourg

Pourquoi des sièges rouges ? Pour rappeler la mainmise du Parti Socialiste sur Charleroi depuis une éternité ?

Stade du Mambourg

Le tribune 3. Même sans son troisième niveau, elle reste une construction unique.

Stade du Mambourg

La tribune principale. Le bâtiment d’origine est toujours présent, sous les sièges bleus.

Stade du Mambourg

Les astuces de construction du stade.

Stade du Mambourg

La tribune 2, réservée aux visiteurs.

Stade du Mambourg

Le Mambourg post-Euro 2000 était un stade moderne et agréable. Dommage qu’il ait été construit sans respecter la loi.

Stade du Mambourg

Le stade amputé de ses toitures et seconds étages.

Stade du Mambourg

Les nouvelles toitures ridicules.

Stade du Mambourg

Au moins, les sièges sont noirs et blancs désormais.

Stade du Mambourg

La tribune principale a elle-aussi eu droit à de nouveaux sièges rappelant le symbole du club, le zèbre.

Stade du Mambourg

Un stade bricolé pour une équipe en mal de trophées...

Projet Coupe du Monde 2018

Le projet pour la Coupe du Monde. Il paraît que c’est beau...

Projet Coupe du Monde 2018

44.000 places, puis 25.000. Le même scénario que pour le Mambourg et l’Euro 2000. Projet annulé.

Projet nouveau stade du Sporting

Le dernier projet. Ouverture escomptée en 2024.



Notes

  • Les Affaires judicaires de Charleroi, sur Wikipédia.
  • Cet article provient de mon ancien site www.foothisto.be mais n’a jamais été publié.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement (avril 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500