Edmond Machtensstadion

1
May 2020

The Edmond Machtensstadion has witnessed an admittedly complex but fascinating story.
A look back on almost a century of football adventures in Brussels.

Stade Edmond Machtens

1920-1973 : the Daring

Daring de Bruxelles The story, however, started in the simplest of ways.
A club, the Daring Club Brussels, is looking for new ground where it can build a stadium worthy of its ambitions. Founded in 1895 and affiliated with the Belgian federation two years later, it waited until 1903 before registering for the championship. In the meantime, the Daring has merged with Brussels FC, Sporting Molenbeek, Skill FC Brussels and US Brussels. The mergers will become an endemic evil for the boarder of the future Edmond Machtensstadion. As is often the case with clubs founded in the 19th century, it is a multi-sport club and football is only one section of the Daring.

As soon as it got started, the Daring became a serious competitor for the great Union Saint-Gilloise and celebrated its first title in 1912. Four other titles were won by the Daringmen : 1914, 1921, 1936 and 1937. The Belgian Cup was won in 1935 facing Lyra, in the Daring stadium, facing only 4,000 people.
After playing on the site of the future Basilica of Koekelberg and at the Jetsesteenweg, the Daring sets its sights on a large field at Charles Malisstraat, in Sint-Jans-Molenbeek. There, the club built in 1920 a real sports complex, far ahead of its time. In addition to the stadium, the site includes an athletics track, a hockey field, tennis courts and, more surprisingly, a solarium. The stadium is simply named after the street where it is located, namely Charles Malisstadion, after a former club president and councilor for Molenbeek. The stands and terraces can accommodate around 20,000 people.
In 1939, the stadium changed its name to the Oscar Bossaertstadion, named after a player and chairman of the Daring.

Daring de Bruxelles Unfortunately, the hour of glory has already passed and the World War II has put an end to the domination of the club of Molenbeek. Like its great rival of the Union Saint-Gilloise, the Daring becomes unstable and struggles to stay in Division 1. Two European qualifications for the Cup of Fair Cities are still obtained in 1966 and 1969, as well as a last Belgian Cup final in 1970, against Club Brugge. At this time, the Daring is in Division 2 and the difference in level doesn't allow a miracle : Brugege crush the Daring by 6-2 at the Heizselstadion.

Increasingly empty stands and merciless competition from the new great Brussels rival, namely Anderlecht, has plunged the Daring into a financial crisis from which it hasn't recovered. The glorious number 2 resigned in 1973 and was struck off by the Belgian federation. The Daring Club no longer exists and the Oscar Bossaertstadion is now free to all tenants.

Stade Oscar Bossaert

1973-2003 : the RWDM

Racing White Unable to leave such an infrastructure unoccupied, the municipality of Molenbeek is looking for a club capable of effectively occupying the Oscar Boosaertstadion. At the same time, the stadium became the Edmond Machtensstadion, named after the mayor of Sint-Jans-Molenbeek between 1939 and 1978. He was also resistant, Minister of State and senator for the Socialist Party of Belgium.
On the other side of the capital, in Woluwe, another club is in trouble. Royal Racing White can no longer fill the Fallonstadion and the budget is in the red. Club resulting from a merger between the prestigious Racing Brussels (number 6) and the Royal White Star Athletic Club (number 47), Racing White agrees to move to Molenbeek, to add the name "Daring" to its name and to add red to these official colors. Racing White Daring of Molenbeek (number 47) was born. Very quickly, the club comes back to life and supporters are numerous back at the stadium. The management, led by Jean-Baptiste l'Ecluse, undertakes to modernize the old Daring stadium and become Belgian Champion, no more no less ! The small side stand is demolished and replaced by a hypermodern construction comprising more than 4,500 seats and a thousand standing places. The stadium can therefore accommodate 27,000 people.
Sportingly, and against all odds, the RWDM won the supreme title in 1975, only two years after the move of Racing White.
In the process, the RWDM made the semi-finals of the 1976-1977 UEFA Cup and would only be stopped by Athletic Bilbao (Spain). The clubs eliminated by the Brussels residents are successively Næstved BK (Denmark), GTS Wisła Kraków (Poland), FC Schalke 04 (FRG) and Feyenoord Rotterdam (Netherlands). The RWDM was already brandishing the UEFA Cup and it has to be said that it was very short. Athletic Bilbao only qualified for their away goal (1-1 and 0-0). Bilbao will be beaten in the final by Juventus (1-0 and 2-1). The other qualifications took place in 1973-1974, 1974-1975, 1977-1978 and 1980-1981 for the UEFA Cup and 1975-1976 for the Champions Club Cup.

These quick and unexpected successes blinded L’Ecluse and he set out to overthrow Anderlecht and take his place as the biggest Belgian club. But if the ascent was rapid, the fall was all the more brutal. Having shared the presidency with Jean Gooris, the latter left the club in 1977 following a dispute with L’Ecluse. The club then experienced its first financial problems. Worse, the construction company of L’Ecluse went bankrupt in 1986 following late payments from the public authorities for which L’Ecluse worked (notably the Brussels metro). Ruined, L’Ecluse withdrew and the club wondered what would become of it without its sponsor-president. Bankruptcy was declared in 1986.

RWDM Johan Vermeersch enters the scene at the same time. A great admirer of L’Ecluse and also a building contractor, he tried to take control of the RWDM in 1986. But he failed. He finally joined the club as main sponsor in 1993. Directly, he undertook to raze the old stand of 1920 (yet still in good condition) and replace it with a new stand of 4,500 seats and 600 business seats. Inspired by Anderlecht, he believed that this new infrastructure would provide RWDM with a large and stable source of income. But the cost of this stand (6,250,000 €) turned out to be impossible to pay for the RWDM. The club, like the Daring at the time, will not rise from this much too heavy burden. The club will die for 10 years. These works will make lose many places and the capacity decreases to 15,266 places. The old popular north terrace (dating from 1920) is closed and the popular south terrace (reserved for visitors) is rebuilt.
Sportingly, however, a final European qualification was won in 1996-1997 against the Turkish Beşiktaş JK (0-0 and 0-3) in the UEFA Cup. Vermeersch left the club but that did not change the dire situation of the club.
After a final season in Division 1 (with an honorable 10th place), the RWDM cannot obtain its professional license and is relegated directly to Division 3. It was the stampede and everyone has left the club, except the supporters. Finally, the number 47 was written off in 2003.
The Edmond Machtensstadion is once again unoccupied.

Stade Edmond Machtens

2003-2014 : the FC Brussels

FC Brussels Vermeersch, not wanting to stay on the failure of the RWDM, moved the KFC Strombeek (number 1936) from the Flemish suburb of Brussels to Sint-Jans-Molenbeek. The club changes its name to become the Football Club Molenbeek Brussels Strombeek. The club quickly moved from Division 3 and to Division 1 but only managed to stay at the highest level for 4 years. Relegation to D2 punishes the 2007-2008 season.
Shunned by supporters of the late RWDM, the Edmond Machtensstadion remains empty compared to a fairly recent past. These same supporters continue to wear RWDM jerseys or sing in his honor. FC Brussels can't get into the hearts of the fans.
Finally, Vermeersch stops the costs and places the club in liquidation. No buyer appears and the club is struck off on June 24, 2014.

At the same time, a new club claiming to be the successor to the RWDM was founded in 2003. But it didn't experience any success and quickly fell back to the lowest level of Belgian football.

Stade Edmond Machtens

2014-2018 : the White Star

White Star AC Once again, the Sint-Jans-Molenbeek stadium was deserted. Once again, a club has left its locality to come and occupy the Edmond Machtensstadion. And as in 1973, this is the White Star !
But it’s a whole different club from the old White Star AC (registration number 47). Here, it is a club originally called Kappelleveld FC and has the registration number 5750. The first move takes place and the club moves from Evere to Sint-Lambrechts-Woluwe. Wanting to recover the historic heritage of the White Star AC, the club obtained the Belgian federation to change its name and will now be Royal White Star Woluwe FC. White Star Bruxelles But like in the days of Racing White, the Fallonstadion remains empty and going to Molenbeek seems to be a good opportunity for the White Star FC. The club changed its name once again to become the Royal White Star Brussels. The club reached Division 2 and everyone believed at the time that this umpteenth tenant of the Edmond Machtensstadion would last. And as with the other clubs, the end is near at hand.
But as of 2015, a new club has just set up at the Edmond Machtensstadion : the RWDM (see next chapter) ! After numerous quarrels between the two clubs, the White Star is finally ejected from the stadium and forfeits for the 2018-2019 season. Service number 5750 is struck off.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Since 2015 : the new RWDM

Definitely, the ghosts of the former gone clubs like to come and haunt the Edmond Machtensstadion.
This version of the RWDM is actually a project to revive the 1975 Belgian Champion.
To do this, a registration number must be obtained and the leaders of the new RWDM found it in Flanders, in Wetteren. This small town had two football clubs : RRC Wetteren-Kwatrecht (registration number 95) and Koninklijke Standaard Wetteren (registration number 5479). A merger is made to form the Royal Football Club Wetteren and thus frees the number from Standaard. The new RWDM recovers the registration number and the sporting position of the deceased Standaard, namely a place in Promotion (fourth division).
In the meantime, the Belgian federation to grant the club the right to use the logo of the old number 47. As a result, the club has recovered a large number of supporters from the former RWDM.
For once, the future looks a little brighter for the new tenant of the Edmond Machtensstadion.

Stade Edmond Machtens

A multitude of clubs for a single stadium

RWDM If the clubs have followed one another at an infernal pace at the Edmond Machtensstadion, it has on the other hand experienced little evolution during its century of existence.
If nothing remains of the stadium from 1920, there have been no major modifications since 1993.
The stadium now has 12,266 seats and is fully compliant with the requirements of Division 1. For a long time, a stand construction project in place of the former popular north terrace existed but the stadium doesn't (yet ?) enough spectators to justify such a construction.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The Daring stadium, when it opened in 1920.

Edmond Machtensstadion

“The Grandstand can hold 5,500 spectators."

Edmond Machtensstadion

This daring construction will remain in service until 1993.

Edmond Machtensstadion

One of the terraces at the end of the ground, will disappear in the 1990's : one replaced by new terrace, the other by a wall of advertisements.

Edmond Machtensstadion

This stand has been replaced in 1973 by the famous stand l'Ecluse.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The crowded stadium, during the 1920-1921 season. The derby against the Union has brough these two clubs into Brussels folklore through the play Bossemans et Coppenolle.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Oscar Bossaertstadion in 1970. Unchanged for 50 years.

Edmond Machtensstadion

4 years later, the stadium changed its appearance and its name. The new stand brings capacity to 27,000 seats.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Edmond Machtensstadion crowded during a match in 1985-1986.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Last year for the old Daring stand in 1992.

Edmond Machtensstadion

A new stand and new terrace in 1993. These too expensive works has sent the RWDM to hell.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The L’Ecluse stand will have to wait a few more years before being refreshed.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The popular north terrace, them, has disappeared in 1996 and has been replaced by a wall of advertisements. The capacity drops to 15,266 places.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The Edmond Machtensstadion refreshed in the early 2000's.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The Raymond Goethals stand.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The L’Ecluse stand, with its new seats. For security reasons, the capacity drops further to 12,266 places.

Edmond Machtensstadion

A modern and comfortable stadium, but no great team to occupy it.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The old Daring stadium on a match night.

Edmond Machtensstadion

The ticket offices, at the feet of the ex-popular north terrace.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Facade of the Raymond Goethals stand.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Facade of the L’Ecluse stand.

Edmond Machtensstadion

Yet another club in Sint-Jans-Molenbeek. Will the new RWDM last over time ?



Note

  • This article comes from my old website www.foothisto.be but was never published.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated recently (May 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500

Stade Edmond Machtens

1
mai 2020

Le Stade Edmond Machtens a été le témoin d’une histoire certes complexe mais passionnante.
Retour sur près d’un siècle de péripéties footballistiques en terre bruxelloise.

Stade Edmond Machtens

1920-1973 : le Daring

Daring de Bruxelles L’histoire commençait pourtant de la plus simple des manières.
Un club, le Daring Club de Bruxelles, se cherche un nouveau terrain où il pourra construire un stade digne de ses ambitions. Fondé en 1895 et affilié à l’Union Belge deux ans plus tard, il attendra 1903 avant de s’inscrire pour le championnat. Entre-temps, le Daring aura fusionné avec le Bruxelles FC, le Sporting Molenbeek, le Skill FC de Bruxelles et l’US Bruxelles. Les fusions deviendront un mal endémique du pensionnaire du futur Stade Edmond Machtens. Comme souvent pour les clubs fondés au XIXe siècle, il s’agit d’un club omnisport et le football n’est qu’une section du Daring.

Dès son entrée en matière, le Daring devient un sérieux concurrent pour la grande Union Saint-Gilloise et fête son premier titre en 1912. Quatre autres titres seront gagnés par les Daringmen : 1914, 1921, 1936 et 1937. La Coupe de Belgique sera remportée en 1935 face au Lyra, dans le stade du Daring face à seulement 4.000 personnes.
Après avoir joué sur le site de la future Basilique de Koekelberg et à la Chaussée de Jette, le Daring jette son dévolu sur un vaste terrain à la Rue Charles Malis, à Molenbeek-Saint-Jean. Là, le club construit en 1920 un véritable complexe sportif, largement en avance sur son temps. Le site comprend outre le stade, une piste d’athlétisme, un terrain de hockey, des cours de tennis et, de manière plus surprenante, un solarium. Le stade est simplement baptisé du nom de la rue où il se trouve, à savoir Stade Charles Malis, du nom d’un ancien président du club et conseiller communal de Molenbeek. Les tribunes et gradins peuvent accueillir environ 20.000 personnes.
En 1939, le stade change de nom et devient le Stade Oscar Bossaert, du nom d’un joueur et président du Daring.

Daring de Bruxelles Malheureusement, les heure de gloire sont déjà passée et la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale mettra un terme à la domination du club de Molenbeek. Tout comme sa grande rivale de l’Union Saint-Gilloise, le Daring devient instable et peine à rester en Division 1. Deux qualifications européennes pour la Coupe des Villes de Foire sont tout de même obtenues en 1966 et 1969, ainsi qu’une dernière finale de Coupe de Belgique en 1970, face au FC Bruges. A ce moment, le Daring est en Division 2 et la différence de niveau ne permet pas de miracle : les brugeois écrasent les bruxellois 6-2 au Heysel.

Des tribunes de plus en plus vides et une concurrence sans merci de la part du nouveau grand rival bruxellois, à savoir Anderlecht, plongeront le Daring dans une crise financière dont il ne se relèvera pas. Le glorieux matricule 2 démissionne en 1973 et est radié par l’Union Belge. Le Daring Club n’existe plus et le Stade Oscar Bossaert est désormais libre de tout locataire.

Stade Oscar Bossaert

1973-2003 : le RWDM

Racing White Ne pouvant laisser une telle infrastructure inoccupée, la commune de Molenbeek cherche un club capable d’occuper efficacement le Stade Oscar Boosaert. Au même moment, le stade devient le Stade Edmond Machtens, du nom du bourgmestre de Molenbeek-Saint-Jean entre 1939 et 1978. Il fût aussi résistant, ministre d'État et sénateur pour le Parti Socialiste de Belgique.
De l’autre côté de la capitale, à Woluwé, un autre club est en difficulté. La Royal Racing White n’arrive plus à remplir le Stade Fallon et les caisses sont vides. Club issu d’une fusion entre le prestigieux Racing de Bruxelles (matricule 6) et le Royal White Star Athletic Club (matricule 47), le Racing White accepte de déménager à Molenbeek, d’ajouter le nom « Daring » à son appellation et d’ajouter le rouge à ces couleurs officielles. Le Racing White Daring de Molenbeek (matricule 47) était né. Très vite, le club reprend vie et les supporters sont de retour nombreux au stade. La direction, menée par Jean-Baptiste l'Ecluse, entreprend de moderniser le vieux stade du Daring et de devenir Champion de Belgique, ni plus ni moins ! La petite tribune latérale est démolie et remplacée par une construction hypermoderne comprenant plus de 4.500 places assises et un millier de places debout. Le stade peut dès lors accueillir 27.000 personnes.
Sportivement, et contre toute attente, le RWDM gagne le titre suprême en 1975, seulement deux ans après le déménagement du Racing White.
Dans la foulée, le RWDM arrive en ½ finale de la Coupe UEFA 1976-1977 et ne sera stoppé que par l’Athletic Bilbao (Espagne). Les clubs éliminés par les bruxellois sont successivement Næstved BK (Danemark), GTS Wisła Cracovie (Pologne), FC Schalke 04 (RFA) et Feyenoord Rotterdam (Pays-Bas). Le RWDM se voyait déjà brandir la Coupe UEFA et il faut avouer qu’il ne s’en est fallu de peu. L’Athletic Bilbao ne s’est qualifié qu’à la faveur de son but marqué à l’extérieur (1-1 et 0-0). Bilbao sera battu en finale par la Juventus (1-0 et 2-1). Les autres qualifications ont eu lieu en 1973-1974, 1974-1975, 1977-1978 et 1980-1981 pour la Coupe UEFA et 1975-1976 pour la Coupe des Clubs Champions.

RWDM Ces succès rapides et inattendus ont aveuglé L’Ecluse et ce dernier se mit en tête de renverser Anderlecht et de prendre sa place de plus grand club belge. Mais si l’ascension fût rapide, la chute fût d’autant plus brutale. Ayant partagé la présidence avec Jean Gooris, ce dernier quitta le club en 1977 suite à une dispute avec L’Ecluse. Le club connait alors ses premiers problèmes financiers. Pire, l’entreprise de construction de L’Ecluse tombe en faillite en 1986 suite à des retards de paiement des pouvoirs publics pour lesquels L’Ecluse a travaillé (notamment le métro de Bruxelles). Ruiné, L’Ecluse se retire et le club se demande ce qu’il va devenir sans son président-mécène. La faillite est déclarée en 1986.

Entre en scène au même moment Johan Vermeersch. Grand admirateur de L’Ecluse et lui aussi entrepreneur dans le bâtiment, il tenta de prendre le contrôle du RWDM dès 1986. Mais il échoua. Il entrera finalement dans le club comme sponsor principal en 1993. Directement, il entreprend de raser la vieille tribune de 1920 (pourtant encore en bon état) et de la remplacer par une nouvelle tribune de 4.500 places assises et 600 business-seats. S’inspirant d’Anderlecht, il pensait que cette nouvelle infrastructure offrirait au RWDM une grande et stable source de revenus. Mais le coût de cette tribune (6.250.000 €) s’est révélé être impossible à payer pour le RWDM. Le club, comme le Daring à l’époque, ne se relèvera pas de cette charge bien trop lourde. Le club agonisera pensant 10 ans. Ces travaux feront perdre de nombreuses places et la capacité passe à 15.266 places. Les vieux populaires nord (datant de 1920) sont fermés et les populaires sud (réservés aux visiteurs) sont reconstruits.
RWDM Sportivement pourtant, une dernière qualification européenne sera décrochée en 1996-1997 contre les turcs de Beşiktaş JK (0-0 et 0-3) en Coupe de l’UEFA. Vermmersch est débarqué du club mais cela ne changea pas la situation catastrophique du club.
Après une ultime saison en Division 1 (avec une honorable 10ème place), le RWDM ne peut obtenir sa licence professionnelle et est relégué directement en Division 3. Ce fût la débandade et tout le monde quittera le club, excepté les supporters. Finalement, le matricule 47 est radié en 2003.
Le stade Edmond Machtens est une nouvelle fois inoccupé.

Stade Edmond Machtens

2003-2014 : le FC Brussels

FC Brussels Vermeersch, ne voulant pas rester sur l’échec du RWDM fait déménager le KFC Strombeek (matricule 1936) de la banlieue flamande de Bruxelles à Molenbeek. Le club change de nom pour devenir le Football Club Molenbeek Brussels Strombeek. Rapidement, le club passe de la Division 3 et à la Division 1 mais ne parviendra à rester au plus haut niveau que 4 ans. La relégation en D2 sanctionne le saison 2007-2008.
Boudé par les supporters de feu le RWDM, le stade Edmond Machtens reste vide comparé à un passé assez récent. Ces mêmes supporters continuent d’ailleurs de porter des maillots du RWDM ou de chanter en son honneur. Le FC Brussels n’arrive pas entrer dans le cœur des fans.
Finalement, Vermeersch arrête les frais et place le club en liquidation. Aucun repreneur ne se manifeste et le club est radié le 24 juin 2014.

Parallèlement, un nouveau club se réclamant successeur du RWDM est fondé en 2003. Mais il connaitra aucun succès et retombera très vite au dernier niveau du foot belge.

Stade Edmond Machtens

2014-2018 : le White Star

White Star AC Une nouvelle fois, le stade de Molenbeek-Saint-Jean a été déserté. Une nouvelle fois, un club est débauché de sa localité pour venir occuper le Stade Edmond Machtens. Et comme en 1973, il s’agit du White Star !
Mais il s’agit d’un tout autre club que le vieux White Star AC (matricule 47). Ici, il s’agit d’un club originalement appelé Kappelleveld FC et a comme matricule le numéro 5750. Un premier déménagement a lieu et le club passe de Evere à Woluwe-Saint-Lambert. Voulant récupérer l’héritage historique du White Star, le club obtient de l’Union Belge de changer de nom et sera désormais le Royal White Star Woluwé FC. White Star Bruxelles Mais comme à l’époque du Racing White, le Stade Fallon reste vide et partir à Molenbeek semble être une bonne opportunité pour le White Star. Le club change une nouvelle fois de nom pour devenir le Royal White Star Bruxelles. Le club atteint la Division 2 et tout le monde croit à l’époque que cet énième locataire du Stade Edmond Machtens durera enfin. Et comme pour les autres clubs, la fin est bientôt proche.
Mais dès 2015, un nouveau club vient s’installer au Stade Edmond Machtens : le RWDM (cf. chapitre suivant) ! Après de nombreuses querelles entre les deux clubs, le White Star est finalement éjecté du stade et déclare forfait pour la saison 2018-2019. Le matricule 5750 est radié.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Depuis 2015 : le nouveau RWDM

RWDM Décidément, les fantômes des anciens clubs radiés aiment venir hanter le Stade Edmond Machtens.
Cette version-ci du RWDM est en fait un projet visant à faire renaitre le Champion de Belgique 1975.
Pour ce faire, un matricule doit être obtenu et les dirigeants du nouveau RWDM l’ont trouvé en Flandre, à Wetteren. Cette petite ville possédait deux clubs de football : le RRC Wetteren-Kwatrecht (matricule 95) et le Koninklijke Standaard Wetteren (matricule 5479). Une fusion est faite pour former le Royal Football Club Wetteren et libère ainsi le matricule du Standaard. Le nouveau RWDM récupère le matricule et la place sportive du défunt Standaard, à savoir une place en Promotion (quatrième division).
Entretemps, l’Union Belge à accorder au club le droit d’utilise le logo de l’ex-matricule 47. De ce fait, le club a récupéré un grand nombre de supporters de l’ancien RWDM.
Pour une fois, l’avenir s’annonce un peu plus serein pour le nouveau locataire du Stade Edmond Machtens.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Une multitude de clubs pour un seul stade

Si les clubs se sont succéder à un rythme infernal au Stade Edmond Machtens, celui-ci n’a par contre connu que peu d’évolutions durant son siècle d’existence.
S’il ne reste rien du stade de 1920, il n’y a plus eu de modifications majeures depuis 1993.
Le stade compte aujourd’hui 12.266 places et est parfaitement conforme aux exigences de la Division 1. Pendant longtemps, un projet de construction de tribune à la place des anciens populaires nord a existé mais le stade molenbeekois ne connait (pas encore ?) d’affluence suffisante pour justifier une telle construction.

Photos

Stade Edmond Machtens

Le stade du Daring, à son ouverture en 1920.

Stade Edmond Machtens

« La Grande Tribune pouvant contenir 5.500 spectateurs. »

Stade Edmond Machtens

Cette audacieuse construction restera en service jusqu’en 1993.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Un des gradins derrière les buts. Ils disparaitront dans les années 90 : l’un remplacé par de nouveaux gradins, l’autre par un mur de publicités.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Cette tribune sera remplacée en 1973 par la célèbre tribune l’Ecluse.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Le stade bondé, lors de la saison 1920-1921. Le derby contre l’Union fera entrer ces deux clubs dans le folklore bruxellois à travers la pièce de théâtre Bossemans et Coppenolle.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Le stade Oscar Bossaert en 1970. Inchangé depuis 50 ans.

Stade Edmond Machtens

4 ans plus tard, le stade a changé d’aspect et de nom. La nouvelle tribune porte la capacité à 27.000 places.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Le stade Edmond Machtens bondé lors d’un match en 1985-1986.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Dernière année pour la vieille tribune du Daring en 1992.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Une nouvelle tribune et de nouveaux gradins en 1993. Ces travaux trop coûteux enverront la RWDM en enfer.

Stade Edmond Machtens

La tribune L’Ecluse devra, par contre, attendre encore quelques années avant d’être rafraichie.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Les populaires nord, eux, disparaitront en 1996 et seront remplacés par un mur de publicités. La capacité chute à 15.266 places.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Le stade Edmond Machtens rafraichi au début des années 2000.

Stade Edmond Machtens

La tribune Raymond Goethals.

Stade Edmond Machtens

La tribune L’Ecluse, parée de ses nouveaux sièges. Pour des raisons de sécurité, la capacité baisse encore à 12.266 places.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Un stade moderne et confortable mais plus d’équipe d’envergure pour l’occuper.

Stade Edmond Machtens

L’ancien stade du Daring, un soir de match.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Les guichets, aux pieds des ex-populaires nord.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Façade de la tribune Raymond Goethals.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Façade de la tribune L’Ecluse.

Stade Edmond Machtens

Un énième club à Molenbeek. Le nouveau RWDM arrivera-t-il à durer dans le temps ?



Note

  • Cet article provient de mon ancien site www.foothisto.be mais n’a jamais été publié.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement (mai 2020).

Commentaires

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500