Jules Ottenstadion

1
May 2020

There is some football clubs that seems to have been around forever and is remarkably stable. One of this is AA Gent. Present since 1900, this club has evolved in the same stadium for 93 years.
History of the Jules Ottenstadion.

Jules Ottenstadion

A multi-sport pioneer

ARA La Gantoise One of the oldest sports clubs in Belgium was founded in Ghent in 1864.
The first section will be dedicated to gymnastics. Quickly, a multitude of other disciplines will join gymnastics : athletics, boxing, swimming, cycling, water polo, cricket, fencing, hockey, tennis and even tennis.
In 1895, when a few clubs decided to found a national federation grouping so-called athletic sports, the Association Athlétique La Gantoise joined the project. In the company of the Antwerp FC, Athletic & Running Club Brussels, Club Brugge, FC Liège, Racing Brussels, Leopold Club Brussels, Sporting Brussels, Union FC Ixelles and du Verviers FC was founded on September 1, 1895 the Belgian Union of Athletic Sports Societies (UBSSA). Among these clubs, La Gantoise, the Athletic & Running Club and Verviers didn't yet have a football section or were unable to field a full team.
From November 10, 1895, the first championship is organized and will be won by the Club Liège.

UBSSA was initially be a multi-sport federation, welcoming disciplines such as football, of course, but also athletics, boxing, weightlifting, wrestling, rugby and cycling, among others. It was not until 1912 that the federation only devoted itself to football.

Jules Ottenstadion

Football opening

KAA Gent Logically, a football section has benn officially inaugurated in La Gantoise on October 31, 1900. Like the other sections of the AAG, the new club will play in blue and white and the same year, the club found its nickname : "De Buffalo's". The famous Buffalo Bill was visiting Belgium with his circus and settled right next to the ground of La Gantoise. The spectators heard chanting "Buffalo, Buffalo, Buffalo!" during a football match and repeated the same chants. La Gantoise had already found its identity. An Indian head will become the emblem of the club a few years later.

In 1901, a derby was organized between La Gantoise and the Racing Club de Gand, founded in 1899. This first derby was a real correction for La Gantoise : a scathing 10-0 would conclude this first match. Regardless, La Gantoise will begin its slow rise in Belgian football.
For his first season in Division 1 in 1913-1914, La Gantoise will finish ante-penultimate and will only save himself thanks to a test match against Standard Liège.
When the registration number system was introduced in 1926, La Gantoise inherited the number 7.

Jules Ottenstadion

In Gentbrugge for 93 years

KAA Gent Before settling in the Jules Ottenstadion, La Gantoise will play on the following grounds : on the Carpentierplein, the Mussenplein and finally on the Albertlaan. In 1920, the club acquired land in the Bruiloftstraat in Gentbrugge, a suburb of Ghent. The new stadium is inaugurated on August 22 of this year by Prince Leopold, future King Leopold III. Directly, the stadium is named in honor of Jules Otten, one of the founders of La Gantoise. This first version of the stadium included a wooden seated stand and a slope surrounding the field.
It wasn't until 1937 that the facilities were modernized and rebuilt in more durable materials. Thus, a new concrete main stand and large terraces will now be able to safely accommodate an increasingly large audience. The new stands can then accommodate around 20,000 people. The stadium will remain in this state for almost half a century.

From a sporting point of view, La Gantoise will only be a club like the others, having no major trophies to its credit.
If the club has managed to become a regular member of Division 1, it will only win a place as vice-champion in 1955. On the other hand, in the Belgian Cup, La Gantoise could finally write a first line in 1964 by winning this competition relaunched in the same year by the Belgian federation following the creation of a new European competition, the Cup Winners' Cup. This final has been played against FC Diest and has been won by Ghent by 4 to 2 (after extra time).
After this great season, La Gantoise experience several successive relegations and promotions but without putting the future of the club in danger. Unlike other cities, the Ghent clubs have never considered merging.

KAA Gent In 1971, as with the other Flemish clubs, La Gantoise adapted and was renamed Koninklijke Atletieke Associatie Gent. Note that the Ghent leaders opted for a fair compromise between evolution and tradition.
"Association Athlétique" should have been translated by "Athletische Vereninging" but by choosing "Atletiek Associatie", this allowed to keep the double "A" of historical origins.

Jules Ottenstadion

KAA Gent, a future top-club

KAA Gent managed to settle permanently in D1 in 1980. Since then, only one season (1988-1989) will be played at the lower level.
A second Belgian Cup will be won against Standard in 1984 (2-0, after extra time) and will allow La Gantoise to return to the Cup Winners' Cup for the 1984-1985 season. In the league, the club wins its European ticket at the end of the 1982-1983, 1983-1984 and 1986-1987 seasons.

KAA Gent With these good results, a lot of people returns to the Jules Ottenstadion and there is an average of 15,000 spectators. But the stadium, never modernized since 1937, is gradually becoming too dilapidated to accommodate a club of the level of KAA Gent.
In 1986, the old main stand was demolished and replaced by a new construction designed by Johan Vermeersch, a former D1 player (notably passed by KAA Gent) who converted to the building. The Vermeersch company is also involved in the renovation of the RWDM and Sporting Anderlecht stadiums.
This new main stand also introduces the skyboxes in the old stadium of Gentbrugge. The capacity rises to 22,000 places.
In 1992, it was the turn of the standing stand to be razed. In its place, an imposing stand was built, comprising a first level of standing places, a tier of business seats and a third tier of seats. This new construction also includes the premises for the hockey and tennis sections present on the same site. The number of places drops to 18,000.
It is in this stadium that Lierse SK, the recent Belgian champion, will compete in the group stage of the Champions League in the 1997-1998 season. Indeed, the Lierse stadium being even more dilapidated than the Jules Ottenstadion, the yellow and black club had no choice but to temporarily relocate to Ghent, 75 km away.

At the end of the 20th century, UEFA imposed increasingly strict standards for stadiums and KAA Gent was again forced to renovate its stadium. The last stands of 1937 disappeared and were replaced by two prefabricated constructions. The Jules Ottenstadion now only has seating places and can accommodate 12,919 spectators.
Become too small and cannot be enlarged, the hours of the old stadium are now counted. In addition, the club now has great ambitions and wants to become Champion of Belgium.

Jules Ottenstadion

The difficult gestation of the new stadium

KAA Gent In 2003, the club officially launched the project for a new stadium. Its opening is scheduled for the 2005-2006 season, will accommodate 20,000 people and will be located in a industrial area, near the highways surrounding the city of Ghent.
Unfortunately, many administrative problems will cause many delays and the original project will have to be reviewed several times.
In 2008, finally, the first works begin but it will take another 5 years before being able to inaugurate the new stadium. On July 17, 2013, the Ghelamco Arena is finally opened and will be inaugurated with a match against VfB Stuttgart.
Two years later, the club can finally celebrate its first title of Belgian Champion.

The Jules Ottenstadion was demolished in 2013. Only the hockey and tennis sections are still present at the Bruiloftstraat. Only a lighting pole remains from the football stadium. 93 years of history have been easily and quickly wiped off the map of Belgian football.

Jules Ottenstadion

The Jules Ottenstadion, in its infancy.

Jules Ottenstadion

The first wooden tribune in 1914.

Jules Ottenstadion

After the war, the stand was rebuilt, still made of wood. Here in 1919.

Jules Ottenstadion

The stadium after 1937. It was built on the Belgian model, like all the stadiums of that time.

Jules Ottenstadion

The new main stand, this time in concrete.

Jules Ottenstadion

For almost fifty years, the stadium will hardly change.

Jules Ottenstadion

The only additions in the 1960’s were a roof on the standing stand and the artificial lighting.

Jules Ottenstadion

In 1986, a new main stand was built. The stadium is gradually being modernized.

Jules Ottenstadion

During the 1980's, the stadium was regularly filled with 22,000 spectators.

Jules Ottenstadion

The terrace on the Tennisstraat side. Over the years, it will lose half its length and be replaced by an advertising wall. The other half will be destroyed in 2001.

Jules Ottenstadion

The Jules Ottenstadion hosted the Lierse SK Champions League matches in this configuration.

Jules Ottenstadion

The main stand from 1986.

Jules Ottenstadion

Opposite, the imposing stand opened in 1992.

Jules Ottenstadion

At each end, a prefabricated seating stand is installed to replace the old terraces of 1937.

Jules Ottenstadion

View from the stand reserved for visitors.

Jules Ottenstadion

If the stadium now meets UEFA standards, it no longer meets the ambitions of the club.

Jules Ottenstadion

Final aspect of the Jules Ottenstadion.

Jules Ottenstadion

As soon as KAA Gent moves to the Ghelamco Arena, the old Gentbrugge stadium is demolished.

Jules Ottenstadion

The oldest stand wasn't even 30 years old.

Jules Ottenstadion

Only vestige : a lighting pylon fitted with mobile phone relays. The site will now be dedicated to housing.

Ghelamco Arena

The Ghelamco Arena, opened in 2013 after a lot of problems.

Ghelamco Arena

As often, this new stadium is very banal.

Ghelamco Arena

20,000 places already seem too little for the recent Belgian Champion...


Note

  • This article comes from my old website www.foothisto.be but was never published.
    It has been somewhat modified and updated recently (May 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500

Jules Ottenstadion

1
mai 2020

Il est de ces clubs qui semblent exister depuis toujours et qui sont d’une stabilité remarquable. Ce club, c’est La Gantoise. Présente depuis 1900, cette formation a évolué dans le même stade pendant 93 ans.
Historique du Jules Ottenstadion.

Jules Ottenstadion

Un pionnier omnisport

ARA La Gantoise Un des plus anciens clubs omnisports de Belgique a été fondé à Gand en 1864.
La première section sera dédiée à la gymnastique. Rapidement, une multitude d’autres disciplines rejoindront la gymnastique : l’athlétisme, la boxe, la natation, le cyclisme, le water-polo, le cricket, l’escrime, le hockey ou encore le tennis.
En 1895, quand quelques clubs décident de fonder une fédération nationale regroupant les sports dits athlétiques, l’Association Athlétique La Gantoise se joint au projet. En compagnie des clubs de l’Antwerp FC, de l’Athletic & Running Club Bruxelles, du Club Brugeois, du FC Liégeois, du Racing de Bruxelles, du Léopold Club de Bruxelles, du Sporting de Bruxelles, de l’Union FC Ixelles et du Verviers FC est fondée le 1er septembre 1895 l’Union Belge des Sociétés de Sports Athlétiques (UBSSA). Parmi ces clubs, La Gantoise, l’Athletic & Running Club et Verviers ne possédaient pas encore de section football ou n’étaient pas en mesure d’aligner une équipe complète.
Dès le 10 novembre 1895, le premier championnat est organisé et sera remporté par le Club Liégeois.

L’UBSSA sera dans un premier temps une fédération omnisports et accueillant des disciplines comme le football bien évidemment mais aussi l’athlétisme, la boxe, l’haltérophilie, la lutte, le rugby à XV et le cyclisme entre autres. Il faudra attendre 1912 pour la fédération ne se consacre qu’au seul football.

Jules Ottenstadion

Ouverture au football

KAA Gent Fort logiquement, une section football sera officiellement inaugurée au sein de La Gantoise le 31 octobre 1900. Comme les autres sections de l’AAG, Le nouveau club jouera en bleu et blanc et la même année, le club a trouvé son surnom : « De Buffalo’s ». Le célèbre Buffalo Bill était de visite en Belgique avec son cirque et s’était installé juste à côté du terrain de La Gantoise. Les spectateurs entendirent scander « Buffalo, Buffalo, Buffalo ! » pendant un match de football et reprièrent les mêmes chants. La Gantoise avait déjà trouvé son identité. Une tête d’indien deviendra l’emblème du club quelques années plus tard.

Dès 1901, un derby est organisé entre La Gantoise et le Racing Club de Gand, fondé en 1899. Ce premier derby sera une véritable correction pour La Gantoise : un cinglant 10-0 conclura cette première rencontre. Peu importe, La Gantoise commencera sa lente ascension dans le football belge.
Pour sa première saison en Division 1 en 1913-1914, La Gantoise terminera antépénultième et ne se sauvera qu’à la faveur d’un test-match contre le Standard de Liège.
Lors de l’introduction du système de matricules en 1926, La Gantoise héritera du numéro 7.

Jules Ottenstadion

A Gentbrugge pour 93 ans

KAA Gent Avant de s’établir au Jules Ottenstadion, La Gantoise évoluera sur les terrains suivants : sur la Carpentierplein, la Mussenplein et enfin sur l'Albertlaan. En 1920, le club acquiert un terrain dans la Bruiloftstraat à Gentbrugge, un faubourg de Gand. Le nouveau stade est inauguré le 22 août de cette année par le prince Léopold, futur Roi Léopold III. Directement, le stade est baptisé en l’honneur de Jules Otten, l’un des fondateurs de La Gantoise. Cette première version du stade comportait une tribune assise en bois et un talus ceinturant le terrain.
Il faudra attendre 1937 pour que les installations soient modernisées et reconstruites en matériaux plus durables. Ainsi, une nouvelle tribune assise en béton et de grands gradins pourront désormais accueillir en toute sécurité un public de plus en plus important. Les nouvelles tribunes peuvent alors accueillir environ 20.000 personnes. Le stade restera dans cet état pendant près d’un demi-siècle.

Point de vue sportif, La Gantoise ne sera qu’un club comme les autres, n’ayant à son actif aucun trophée majeur.
Si le club a réussi à devenir un membre régulier de la Division 1, il ne décrochera qu’une place de vice-champion en 1955. Par contre, en Coupe de Belgique, La Gantoise pourra enfin écrire une première ligne en 1964 en remportant cette compétition relancée en cette même année par l’Union Belge suite à la création d’une nouvelle compétition européenne, la Coupe des Vainqueurs de Coupe. Cette finale se disputera contre le FC Diest et sera remportée par les gantois par 4 à 2 (après prolongations).
Après cette belle saison, La Gantoise connaitre plusieurs relégations et promotions successives mais sans mettre le futur du club en danger. Contrairement à d’autres villes, les clubs gantois n’ont jamais envisagé de fusionner.

KAA Gent En 1971, comme pour les autres clubs flamands, La Gantoise s’adapte et s’appellera désormais Koninklijke Atletieke Associatie Gent. A noter que les dirigeants gantois optèrent pour un juste compromis entre évolution et tradition.
« Association Athlétique » aurait dû être traduit par « Athletische Vereninging » mais en choisissant « Atletiek Associatie », cela permettait de conserver le double « A » des origines historiques.

Jules Ottenstadion

KAA Gent, un futur top-club

Le matricule 7 parvient à s’installer définitivement en D1 en 1980. Depuis, une seule saison (1988-1989) sera disputée à l’échelon inférieur.
Une deuxième Coupe de Belgique sera gagnée contre le Standard en 1984 (2-0, après prolongations) et permettra à La Gantoise de faire son retour en Coupe des Coupes pour la saison 1984-1985. En championnat, le club décroche son ticket européen au terme des saisons 1982-1983, 1983-1984 et 1986-1987.

KAA Gent Avec ces bons résultats, le public revient en masse au Jules Ottenstadion et on enregistre une moyenne de 15.000 spectateurs. Mais le stade, jamais modernisé depuis 1937, devient peu à peu trop vétuste pour accueillir un club du niveau de La Gantoise.
En 1986, l’antique tribune assise est démolie et remplacée par une nouvelle construction conçue par Johan Vermeersch, un ancien joueur de D1 (passé notamment par La Gantoise) reconvertit dans le bâtiment. La société de Vermeersch est également impliquée dans la rénovation des stades du RWDM et du Sporting d’Anderlecht.
Cette nouvelle tribune introduit par la même occasion les loges d’affaire dans le vieux stade de Gentbrugge. La capacité monte à 22.000 places.
En 1992, c’est au tour de la grande tribune debout d’être rasée. A sa place, une imposante tribune est construite et comprend un premier niveau de places debout, un étage de business-seats et un troisième niveau de places assises. Cette nouvelle construction comprend également les locaux pour les sections de hockey et de tennis présentent sur le même site. Le nombre de places redescend à 18.000.
C’est dans ces installations que le Lierse SK, récent champion de Belgique disputera la phase de groupes de la Ligue des Champions lors de la saison 1997-1998. En effet, le stade du Lierse étant encore plus vétuste que le stade de La Gantoise, le club jaune et noir n’eut d’autre choix que de déménager temporairement à Gand, distante de 75 km.

A la fin du XXe siècle, l’UEFA imposa des normes de plus en plus strictes pour les stades et La Gantoise fût obligée d’une nouvelle fois rénover son stade. Les dernières tribunes de 1937 disparurent et furent remplacées par deux constructions préfabriquées. Le Jules Ottenstadion ne comprend plus alors que des places assises et peut accueillir 12.919 spectateurs.
Devenu trop petit et ne pouvant plus être agrandit, les heures du vieux stade sont désormais comptées. De plus, le club a désormais de grandes ambitions et veut devenir Champion de Belgique.

Jules Ottenstadion

La difficile gestation du nouveau stade

KAA Gent En 2003, le club lance officiellement le projet d’une nouvelle enceinte. Son ouverture est prévue pour la saison 2005-2006, pourra accueillir 20.000 personnes et sera située dans un zoning, près des autoroutes ceinturant la ville de Gand.
Las, de nombreux problèmes administratifs provoqueront de nombreux retards et le projet d’origine devra être plusieurs fois revu.
En 2008, enfin, les premiers travaux commencent mais il faudra encore attendre 5 ans avant de pouvoir inaugurer le nouveau stade. Le 17 juillet 2013, la Ghelamco Arena est enfin ouverte et sera inaugurée par un match contre le VfB Stuttgart.
Deux ans plus tard, le club peut enfin fêter son premier titre de Champion de Belgique.

Le Jules Ottenstadion est lui démoli dès 2013. Seules les sections de hockey et de tennis sont encore présentes à la Bruiloftstraat. Du stade de football ne subsiste qu’un pylône d’éclairage. 93 ans d’histoire ont été facilement et rapidement rayés de la carte du football belge.

Jules Ottenstadion

Le Stade Jules Otten, à ses tout débuts.

Jules Ottenstadion

La première tribune en bois, en 1914.

Jules Ottenstadion

Après la guerre, la tribune est reconstruite, toujours en bois. Ici en 1919.

Jules Ottenstadion

Le stade après 1937. Il est construit sur le modèle belge, comme tous les stades de cette époque.

Jules Ottenstadion

La nouvelle tribune principale, en béton cette fois.

Jules Ottenstadion

Pendant près de cinquante ans, le stade ne changera presque pas.

Jules Ottenstadion

Les seuls ajouts seront, dans les années 60, une toiture sur la tribune latérale debout et l’éclairage artificiel.

Jules Ottenstadion

En 1986, une nouvelle tribune assise est construite. Le stade se modernise peu à peu.

Jules Ottenstadion

Durant les années 80, le stade est régulièrement rempli avec 22.000 spectateurs.

Jules Ottenstadion

La tribune côté Tennisstraat. Au fil des ans, elle perdra la moitié de sa longueur et sera remplacée par un mur de publicité. L’autre moitié sera détruite en 2001.

Jules Ottenstadion

Le Jules Ottenstadion a accueilli les matches de Ligue des Champions du Lierse SK dans cette configuration.

Jules Ottenstadion

La tribune principale de 1986.

Jules Ottenstadion

En face, l’imposante tribune ouverte en 1992.

Jules Ottenstadion

Derrière chaque but, une tribune assise préfabriquée est installée en remplacement des vieux gradins de 1937.

Jules Ottenstadion

Vue depuis la tribune réservée aux visiteurs.

Jules Ottenstadion

Si le stade respecte désormais les normes de l’UEFA, il ne correspond plus aux ambitions du club.

Jules Ottenstadion

Aspect final du Jules Ottenstadion.

Jules Ottenstadion

Dès le déménagement de La Gantoise vers la Ghelamco Arena, le vieux stade de Gentbrugge est démoli.

Jules Ottenstadion

La plus ancienne tribune n’avait même pas 30 ans.

Jules Ottenstadion

Seul vestige : un pylône d’éclairage muni de relais GSM. Le site sera désormais voué à l’habitat.

Ghelamco Arena

La Ghelamco Arena, ouverte en 2013 après pas mal de péripéties.

Ghelamco Arena

Comme souvent, ce nouveau stade est d’une grande banalité.

Ghelamco Arena

20.000 places semblent déjà trop peu pour le récent Champion de Belgique...



Note

  • Cet article provient de mon ancien site www.foothisto.be mais n’a jamais été publié.
    Il a été quelque peu modifié et actualisé dernièrement (mai 2020).

Commentaires • Comments

Pas encore de commentaire.
No comment yet.

2500