Archives 2008

img > Archives of WorldofJosh.be


20072009
August 16March 1


Photos !

16
August 2008

Once the hard coding is done, it's time to prepare for the publication of my latest photographic outings. As a bonus, I got a new camera. I have already abused it by crossing Belgium in all directions in search of new photos to offer you.

As for the website, its construction is progressing little by little.
On the other hand, it's impossible for me to say quad it will be able to be found on the Internet.
Wait & see.


Transition to PHP

1
March 2008

Initially, I planned to build this site in ASP.NET. This technology, competing with PHP, was set up by Microsoft™ and is starting to find a place in the sun. In addition, it was the programming language that I was best “familiar” with.
But I quickly realized the problems I would soon encounter with ASP.NET. That's why I switched to the competition, which is PHP.

img > ASP.NET img > PHP

But why ?
Mainly out of laziness if I may say so and it has nothing to do with any question of “quality” of language. Indeed, the PHP community is much larger than the ASP.NET community. So it's easier for me to find what I'm looking for in PHP than in ASP.NET. And having only basic knowledge, I couldn't afford to design the slightly more elaborate features (comments, various small scripts, etc.) on my own.
The transition between the two languages was quite difficult, but in the end, the maintenance of the functionalities will be easier.



20082010
August 16March 1

Archives 2008

img > Archives de WorldofJosh.be


20072009
16 août1 mars


Des photos !

16
août 2008

Une fois le codage pur et dur terminé, il est temps de préparer la publication de mes dernières sorties photographiques. En prime, j’ai acquis un nouvel appareil photo. J’en ai déjà abusé en traversant la Belgique dans tous les sens en quête de nouvelles photos à vous proposer.

Pour ce qui est du site web, sa construction progresse petit à petit.
Il m’est par contre impossible de dire quad il pourra se retrouver sur Internet.
Wait & see.


Passage au PHP

1
mars 2008

Au départ, j’avais prévu de construire ce site en ASP.NET. Cette technologie, concurrente du PHP, a été mise en place par Microsoft™ et commençait à se faire une petite place au soleil. De plus, c’était le langage de programmation que je connaissais le moins mal.
Mais je me suis vite rendu compte des problèmes que j’allais bientôt rencontrer avec l’ASP.NET. C’est pour cela que je suis passé chez la concurrence, à savoir le PHP.

img > ASP.NET img > PHP

Mais pourquoi ?
Principalement par paresse si je puis dire et cela n'a rien à voir avec une quelconque question de "qualité" de langage. En effet, la communauté PHP est bien plus importante que la communauté ASP.NET. Il m'est donc plus facile de trouver ce que je cherche en PHP qu'en ASP.NET. Et n'ayant que des connaissances basiques, je ne pouvais pas me permettre de concevoir moi-même les fonctionnalités un peu plus élaborées (commentaires, divers petits scripts, etc.).
La transition entre les deux langages a été assez ardue, mais au final, la maintenance des fonctionnalités en sera facilitée.



20072009
16 août1 mars